Dried Beef Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I don't use MSG in my recipe. Just everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Great recipe, but I used more green onions and omitted the monosodium glutamate. I would let the cheese ball sit overnight so the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ford City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I didn't use the MSG. Even after rinsing all the beef, I still found this too salty. I recommend using onion powder not onion salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
After reading some other reviews complaining about salt I had to wonder if there may be different kinds of dried beef. The meat we get here from the deli section of our "amish" market is not extrememly salty and when mixed with the bland cream cheese is in no way overpoweringly salty. I do not make it with MSG but do like the Worcestershire sauce for the flavor it adds-I would recommend less than doubling the amount though if you're using 2 blocks of cream cheese. I also have omitted the onion salt on occasion and haven't missed it with the nice fresh flavor of the green onion. Our family really enjoys this-- my mother-in-law always puts butter in hers which makes it less dense so it spreads easily but won't make a ball well. Enjoy this yummy snack!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I was happy to find this recipe on this web site!!! We made a couple of changes... Omitted the MSG Didn't add the dried beef (couldn't find it at the local grocery) Put it in a bowl instead of forming into a ball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plain City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
So Yummy!!! I made just as the recipe stated without the MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Great tasting cheese ball. Maybe the person who gave this a bad rating had used not so good cream cheese. I personally like to use the very thin sliced chipped beef or ham(both are good) cut into very small squares and soaked in worchestershire sauce. I also roll the ball in the same beef or ham. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was an easy recipe to make and most people liked it. I don't know if I would make this to take to a party again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHIRTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I've made this for our past 5 holiday parties and still get asked for the recipe every year. I do make 2 modifications. I rinse half of the beef I use, otherwise it's too salty for my tastes. Also, I don't add the Worsteshire Sauce. A good variation is to replace the beef with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roswell_chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
LOVE IT and so does everyone else I know. Wonderfrul for parties or just eating and home w/ the kids. Pretty good w/ stick pretzels too. Make all the time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States