Dried Beef Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was amazing. My sister had made it for me a few times but I had no idea on measurements until I found this on AR. I didn't use the monosodium glutamate or onion salt but it still tasted just like hers (which included those.) Added another 1/2 onion just because I love their flavor. I also took the advice of someone else on here and washed the salt off the dried beef before chopping it up. My 4 and 1 year olds also loved this - will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This cheese ball is always a hit. I use red onions instead of green. I add a little bit of horseradish and do not use monododium glutamate. I also use a little extra Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I've been making this recipe for years and its ALWAYS a hit! I substitute a few drops of pepper sauce for the worceshire. I see the note about washing the beef and I don't agree with that. Use it as it is. I'm pretty salt sensitive yet it seems just fine. I don't use the msg either. This is one of the easiest recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Made a few quick changes - no MSG and just used chive and onion cream cheese. was simple and easy and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lemont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It was good, and I'll make it again. However, even with the substitution of onion powder for the onion salt, it was crazy-salty. Next time, I'll soak the beef in water or milk to leach out some of the salt first. And I'll cut the onion powder in half. I prefer the taste of the fresh green onions. Good foundation recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Michels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Charles City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Always a hit at family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndreaLynne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This cheese ball is always a favorate! It is also dorm/small kitchen friendly. But... I do change a little bit, instead of onion salt, I use garlic powder since there is a lot of saly in the dried chip beef. I don't use the glutamate... and to make the pieces nice and small to more evenly mix I put them in a small food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
My mother has made something like this before. I changed it up a bit, by taking out the msg and onion salt, and added shredded italian cheese, garlic powder and italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I left out the monosodium glutamate, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This dip was so salty, and then when you spread it on crackers it was just too much to take. I would make it again but use half of the dried beef or perhaps use another meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States