Dried Beef Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was amazing. My sister had made it for me a few times but I had no idea on measurements until I found this on AR. I didn't use the monosodium glutamate or onion salt but it still tasted just like hers (which included those.) Added another 1/2 onion just because I love their flavor. I also took the advice of someone else on here and washed the salt off the dried beef before chopping it up. My 4 and 1 year olds also loved this - will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This cheese ball is always a hit. I use red onions instead of green. I add a little bit of horseradish and do not use monododium glutamate. I also use a little extra Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I've been making this recipe for years and its ALWAYS a hit! I substitute a few drops of pepper sauce for the worceshire. I see the note about washing the beef and I don't agree with that. Use it as it is. I'm pretty salt sensitive yet it seems just fine. I don't use the msg either. This is one of the easiest recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Made a few quick changes - no MSG and just used chive and onion cream cheese. was simple and easy and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lemont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It was good, and I'll make it again. However, even with the substitution of onion powder for the onion salt, it was crazy-salty. Next time, I'll soak the beef in water or milk to leach out some of the salt first. And I'll cut the onion powder in half. I prefer the taste of the fresh green onions. Good foundation recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Michels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Charles City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Always a hit at family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndreaLynne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This cheese ball is always a favorate! It is also dorm/small kitchen friendly. But... I do change a little bit, instead of onion salt, I use garlic powder since there is a lot of saly in the dried chip beef. I don't use the glutamate... and to make the pieces nice and small to more evenly mix I put them in a small food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
My mother has made something like this before. I changed it up a bit, by taking out the msg and onion salt, and added shredded italian cheese, garlic powder and italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I left out the monosodium glutamate, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This dip was so salty, and then when you spread it on crackers it was just too much to take. I would make it again but use half of the dried beef or perhaps use another meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States