Dried Beef Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I thought I'd made a mistake, with so many high ratings, yet mine tasted NASTY! I double-checked my measurements against the recipe - same sizes/weight. I did noticed after the fact the jar said to soak meat in warm water for recipes, which was NOT included in the directions. I'm guessing this is one of those dips that one grows up on? So if you're like me and didn't grow up eating this, test it in private first. Because I had to add another block of cream cheese, then a bit of sugar to offset the still-super-salty taste before it was even barely edible. If soaking makes the difference, then this recipe did NOT say to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
my only question is why on earth would u want to add a product that is something most people are clearly want to avoid? MSG? Other than that good recipe..advice leave out the MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Have made this recipe (without the MSG) for years and it's always a huge hit! I also substitute garlic powder for the onion salt as there's plenty of salt in the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Love this for parties. I never use the monosodium glutamate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is a hit at all my get togethers. I leave out the MSG, and I too, rinse the beef before chopping it. Instead of making a "ball" out of it, I shape it into a small loaf. Serve with wheat thins, because they aren't very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I used this at a party before and it is wonderful and goes over very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Awesome. Left out the MSG for health reasons, but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Great recipe, but do not mix in a food processor, until you want a creamy spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth McCall

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Great recipe, but if you value the health of your brain PLEASE omit the MSG! It is a neuro-toxin/exito-toxin that you should avoid at all cost! Do some research!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rochester, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States