Dried Beef Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is our favorite cheeseball recipe! Whenever the family says they're making cheeseball, this is always the one that has been made from as far back as I can remember. Ive made others but this always seems to be the classic that you can't go without. I dont use the msg. It just depends, but sometimes the amounts of the green onions and worchestershire sauce are upped :) We always roll the outside in more chipped beef. Great cheeseball served with veggies and crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Very good. I like to leave out the msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I normally love Dried Beef Cheese Ball, but this was very salty as written. The dried beef provides plenty of salt. I would suggest substituting the onion salt with onion powder or dried chopped onion. I left out the MSG for obvious reasons. The next time I make this I plan on doubling the cream cheese then adding small amounts of the dried beef and onion powder until the saltiness is tolerable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kip30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I made a simular cheese ball adding 1/2 jar chopped green olives in it and sliced the rest to decorate around it great for x-mas. This one my kids loved thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I like to rinse and dry beef in a paper towel this will cut down on salt,instead of onion salt i like to use garlic powder (or fresh) and only use accent if making couple days ahead. My son who dont normally eat this kind of stuff loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I thought I'd made a mistake, with so many high ratings, yet mine tasted NASTY! I double-checked my measurements against the recipe - same sizes/weight. I did noticed after the fact the jar said to soak meat in warm water for recipes, which was NOT included in the directions. I'm guessing this is one of those dips that one grows up on? So if you're like me and didn't grow up eating this, test it in private first. Because I had to add another block of cream cheese, then a bit of sugar to offset the still-super-salty taste before it was even barely edible. If soaking makes the difference, then this recipe did NOT say to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
my only question is why on earth would u want to add a product that is something most people are clearly want to avoid? MSG? Other than that good recipe..advice leave out the MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Have made this recipe (without the MSG) for years and it's always a huge hit! I also substitute garlic powder for the onion salt as there's plenty of salt in the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Love this for parties. I never use the monosodium glutamate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is a hit at all my get togethers. I leave out the MSG, and I too, rinse the beef before chopping it. Instead of making a "ball" out of it, I shape it into a small loaf. Serve with wheat thins, because they aren't very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States