Dried Beef Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I have made this cheese ball for years & everyone loves it!! I do half the MSG/accent. Seems way to salty if you add what this recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is amazing! The guys loved it, was ZERO left. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is like CRACK!! You can't stop eating it!!! ALWAYS double the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
It had good flavor but its very important to use the right products. First, onion salt is absolutely horrible but when switched to onion powder its fine. Also its very important to have good dried beef, if your getting the salty kind in the jar or plastic pkg then it will be a salty dish, I'd suggest trying to locate a good brand or even better, made from a smokehouse or deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is a good, basic recipe that my mom used to make for Christmas Eve snacking. We usually skip the onion salt and MSG and just use 1/2 teaspoon seasoning salt. She would cover the ball in another few ounces of dried beef so it would travel well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I could not eat it as it is written. I wish I had read the reviews first, it was way too salty with the Worcestershire sauce, MSG, and onion salt (all of these ingredients are very salty). I am working on altering what I made with additional cream cheese in the hopes of cutting the salt so that I can serve it today. If not, I will have to start from scratch. I will make this again, but without the above ingredients as others have suggested. I just wish they had not altered it and then given it five stars. I believed the stars and made it as written. Don't make my mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Best cheese ball ever! I started making this about 4 years ago and ever since then i have been asked to make it for every family gathering. i even double the recipe and most of the time i need to make 2. Never any leftovers. I never us the MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I make mine without the MSG. I use garlic powder in it instead cause it is much healthier than msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
RINSE THE BEEF! If you use the real DRIED BEEF, rather than the cheaper smoked beef, it is very salty. I ruined a double batch by not rinsing. It was just to terribly salty. Headed back to store for more beef and rinsed it. Ahhh, success. I don't use MSG. I did pick up some horseradish the 2nd trip to the grocery store and added a bit. Emmm, good. The green onions are a must. They add nice color and a bit of sweetness. I use all of the onion, white and green. This is so addictive. I've had before but never made. At work there was a carry-in for Easter and I could have sat down with a spoon and consumed the whole thing. I asked for the basic receipe, stopped at the store and then checked out allrecipes.com. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is DELICIOUS. Maybe the best guy dip in the world. Make it next time you have a group of XYs sitting around your television. A friend made this and I nearly didn't taste it. Once I did, I couldn't leave it alone! NO ONE EVER NEEDS TO CONSUME MSG and this recipe doesn't need it for any reason. It's yummy. Culinary crack cocaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States