Dried Beef Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Don't skip th eseason salt. It's the beef that's adding too much salt. If you rinse each piece of dried beef before you chop it up and then pat dry with a paper towel the saltiness is alleviated and this appetizer is a big hit. Takes a little more time but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Very good! I used Buddig corned beef, about a package and a half and instead of making it into a ball, I just put it in a bowl as a spread. Also added a little garlic powder. Served it with Ritz and Triscuits and everybody loved it, even my brother who says he never likes "stuff like that".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
like other reviewers, i chose the carl buddig packaged beef over dried beef, although next time may try it with corned beef like r.t. did! also, i didn't have green onions so i added about a rounded tablespoon of finely minced onion instead. the worchestershire sauce & seasoned salt really give this recipe a nice flavor. great with triscuits. thanks joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I added some shredded Sharp Cheddar cheese to this. I made it for a party in November and have been asked to bring it for New Years, so I think it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This was good but it was a little too salty. Next time I am going to skip the season salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I also tried using Carl Buddig sliced Beef instead of the dried beef and that tamed down the saltiness. And some chopped pistaschios instead of walnuts. I like both versions very much. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWINWI
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is awesome!!!! I used about 1/2 amount of beef & rolled it in pecans instead of the dried beef. I also added some shredded cheddar cheese. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlzfish2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I love this stuff, but to me, the Worchestershire and seasoned salt ruin this classic recipe, so as a personal preference, I've always made this with just cream cheese, green onions, and dried beef (in a jar...don't remember the brand name). I don't rinse the beef, just mince it. In this case, I love the saltiness of the beef and without the additional salt, it's not too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
good stuff. Very salty, so don't forget to rinse the beef as I did! I added a handful of sharp cheddar cheese as well. Will definitely make again with rinsed beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This is very close to the recipe I use. I don't use Worcestershire sauce or seasoned salt but I do use MSG. Sometimes I add a splash of Worcestershire sauce but I really can't tell the difference one way or another. This is my 14 year old sons fav!!! He can sit and eat the whole thing by himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States