Dried Beef Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I love this stuff, but to me, the Worchestershire and seasoned salt ruin this classic recipe, so as a personal preference, I've always made this with just cream cheese, green onions, and dried beef (in a jar...don't remember the brand name). I don't rinse the beef, just mince it. In this case, I love the saltiness of the beef with the creaminess of the cream cheese...accented by the green onions. Without the additional salt, it's not too salty. I am puzzled by rinsing salt off...then adding salt = ) ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I have made this several times. I am sure this is terrible for you, but sooo good. I usually use 4 oz of beef, b/c that is = to 2 packages of the Buddig Beef. I usually just chop all the beef and mix it in and then just serve the mixture in a bowl instead of rolling into a ball. . . Unless I am trying to be fancy. :) I always try to make ahead, b/c it is much better when the flavors have time to meld. We love it w/ Triscuits and Ritz. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Really works better with shredded cheddar cheese and cream cheese (I do 8 oz of each). I was out of green onions and used dried chopped chives instead. I ran out of Worchestershire sauce and used Country Bob's instead (made it sweeter). Be sure and rinse the dried beef well to remove the extra salt. I used onion powder and garlic salt instead of seasoned salt. I put all the beef into the cheese ball and then roll it in crushed pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe with great flavor and no MSG!!! It is also quick and easy, another PLUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I have loved this recipe from my days at Bridge Club. I use Buddig beef, finely chopped olives, green pepper and onion. It is my most favorite ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by primlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Just didnt like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
YUMMY! I made this years ago and was so happy to find the recipe again...so easy to make yet so tasty. I added chopped nuts, and because I am a bit of a germaphobe, I didn't use my bare hands to make the ball - I rolled it around in a piece of plastic wrap and felt better about that. I took it to a get together with girl friends, and they all said it was addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artsy Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is awesome!!!! I used about 1/2 amount of beef & rolled it in pecans instead of the dried beef. I also added some shredded cheddar cheese. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Willis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
my aunt makes this at every family get-together and we all inhale the stuff! i love it with garlic bagel chips. the flavor added by the green onions is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I've made this for years, but instead of the Worcestershire sauce and seasoned salt, I use the some of the powdered flavoring from the Mrs. Grass Chicken soup mix that comes in the box. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States