Drew's World Famous Triple Rush Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was a great recipe. I was a little wary about the coffee, even though I love coffee, but it was great. Every ingredient was evident in the taste and it was wonderful. Some people suggested adding more milk because it was to sweet but I don't think so. I did add about a tsp. of vanilla though. I also found it didn't really make enough for two people. I'd add maybe a half a cup of milk or more, a 1/4 a cup more of choc. chips, and maybe a bit more of the chili powder, coffee, and cinammon. You get the point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
really yummy n rich... very very sweet cuz i dint have semi sweet chocolate chips and added half the amount of normal ones.also i increased the amount of milk.. truly my fantasy of having the hot chocolate in the movie chocolat has come true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I rated this 5 stars because my husband and I loved it. Anything with a little kick gets a thumbs up from me. But my kids would probably rate it a 2, I had to add a lot of extra milk to get them to drink it. I think they would have liked it better without the extra spices. But still an A+. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This was excellent, nice and thick and rich. Nothing like the watery powder mix from the grocery store. I have been looking for a hot chocolate recipe like this. I had all the ingredients on hand (except for heavy cream…I really wanted whipped cream on the top)!! I added about ½ tablespoon of chili powder and only a smidge of cold milk. It is almost 95 degrees outside today, I cannot wait till it is cold and snowy to really enjoy this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I just made this for a cold winter evening, and it was DELICIOUS! It is very thick and chocolatey. My husband loved it. Next time I will add a little more chili powder and more milk. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Marvelous!!! I just made this and it is wonderful. My only criticism is that it is a touch on the sweet side. I would definitely add even more milk at the end. I love the idea of chili powder, it adds that little something that you couldn't pick out was missing if it wasn't there. I just had hazelnut-flavoured instant coffee on hand, but it still worked nicely. You could use different flavours to make a nice variation on the original recipe. This is going into the 'favourites' section of my cook book for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Absolutely DELICIOUS!!! My children loved it and asked me to make it again before they were finished. I don't think I will ever be able to give them the package stuff again. We will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Rich and very chocolatey. Used soymilk and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I'm not sure what everybody who has rated this recipe as good actually drank, but it wasn't this one! I followed the recipe exactly, so i know it was no error on my part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
The hot chocolate was ok, but as the recipe suggested, it definitely needed to be thinned with more milk, otherwise it is like drinking chocolate syrup. It was good enough, but I think I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Dannon Triple Threat Fruit Smoothies

Dessert or nutritious snack, you can't beat smoothies made with Dannon Yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States