Drew's World Famous Triple Rush Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Made a bunch of this and served it at a party and received many compliments. I wound up adding quite a bit of milk to taste, however, since the recipe makes very rich hot chocolate. People detected the cinnamon but were surprised to hear about the chili pepper! Good recipe, just expect to use about 1.5x the milk/water the recipe calls for unless you like drinking chocolate syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Incredible. I added just a little more instant coffee, just for my taste. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was incredible! best hot chocolate ever! i am a rich chocolate lover and this is RICH! just the perfect satisfaction to my craving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeyita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I was inspired to try this out after reading some of the reviews. I couldn't find my Ghirardelli hazelnut hot chocolate so I melted a 1/4 cup of milk chocolate chips in just over a 1/2 cup of milk then added just under a tsp of hazelnut instant coffee. Added another 1/2 cup of milk to even out the sweetness and sprinkled on some cinnamon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
The taste isn't too bad (though I'm not a fan of cinnamon) but even after straining the drink has a powdery texture. I couldn't drink it and ended up dumping it down the drain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Delicious! Like the recipe says, I thinned it with more milk because it was extra rich! But it's better to start rich and thin it than try to make a thin recipe rich! If folks had a grainy brew it's because they didn't let the milk get hot enough to dissolve the coffee. Try Folgers Singles - it's like a tea bag of coffee - or add crystals when the milk is hotter and whisk, whisk, whisk! Excellent recipe! Thanks for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I was craving hot cocoa and had no cocoa powder in the house... and I am so glad that I didn't! This is wonderful. Thick and rich, and the coffee, cinnamon, and yes, even the chili powder, add such a depth of flavor that I can only say you have to make it with the chili powder. The only change I made was to melt the chocolate and milk on the stove and then heat everything together, rather than use the microwave. This is definitely "sipping" chocolate, as it is very thick and rich. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I can't wait for the next cold night to warm up with this. Might try it with a touch of cayenne next time, to have a little more heat at the back, but wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Excellent for a windy and chilly "spring" day. I would suggest adding more milk unless you really want a thick, delicious syrupy chocolate drink. Another flavor addition: I added a fresh mint sprig to the milk mixture as it was heating. This is so rich that I probably shouldn't make it on a regular basis...but I WILL make it again for a special chocolately treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was the best hot chocolate ever. Omitted the coffee-- and only had milk chocolate chips (which I don't even like, they were bought by mistake), but did everything else- including pouring thru a metal strainer. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This stuff really has to be strained. It tastes great, but I was choking on powdery contents the entire time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Dannon Triple Threat Fruit Smoothies

Dessert or nutritious snack, you can't beat smoothies made with Dannon Yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States