Dream Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I found that the crust remained crumbly and didn't stick to the top layer. The second time I made the recipe I just greased the pan and skipped the crust. Instead I poured the batter directly into the pan and baked for the indicated 30 minutes. In this version the recipe makes a wonderful batch of brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Increased all the ingredients by 1/4 to make a jelly roll pan for a potluck. Also added a package of butterscotch chips. Baked the crust for 10 minutes and the bars for 20. They were fantastic! Thank you for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Photo by PattyP
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made these today for the first time and love how easy and fool proof they are. These hold together well and taste great -- two requirements I have for a good bar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These are to die for. I added caramel balls and grated some dark chocolate Dove bar over them but I really think they would have been yummy without the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mustardseed
Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is a recipe my mother made when I was very small. when she sold her house a recipe book with many "handwritten " recipes were lost this was one of them Thank you from the bottom of my heart. We were from Missouri I wonder where the recipe started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I used the cocoa version and loved the flavor! I liked the coconut in it as well. Really yummy, but to be honest, I prefer brownies over these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChrysintheKitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My husband loved this! Was looking for a particular Swedish dessert he liked that incorporated coconut and cocoa and found this. Not the same one, but he loved it all the same! Quick and easy to make. Whipped some cream and added some vanilla sugar and sugar into it to make really sweet. Used cocoa in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This recipe, we've always known as ITALIAN BROWNIES... Not sure where that name came from... Mom makes these every year at Christmas. One nice adition is to sift powdered sugar over the top... for a pretty display. (also sweetens 'em up a bit)... 3 eggs 3 Tbsp. flour 1/2 tsp. baking powder 2 1/4 C light brown sugar 1 C chopped nuts 3/4 C flaked coconut is my Mom's amounts, but Dream Bars II turns out really delicious too... and less sugar.. :) (makes up with the flaked coconut, which is loaded with sugar) so either way, it's about the same. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAKKOJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Not as tasty as I had hoped. A little bland, but I think changing the ingredients slightly would help a lot. Something needs to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
made these for a few gatherings and they have been a big hit. Several have asked for the recipe. (made them without the cocoa)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States