Dr. Pepper Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I made this as a Valentine treat for the husband. Yikes is it SWEET! I left out about 1/4 cup of the sugar and it is still super sweet. If I make it again I might leave out a little more, maybe make it with 1.5 cups instead of the 2 called for...I mean you have DP, marshmallows, and that gooey sugary coating...I doubt the 1/2 cup of sugar will be missed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUDGNIK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I got a request for Dr. Pepper cake. This recipe sounded pretty good so I gave it a try. The cake was sweet and moist. Everyone liked it and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I added 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the cake batter as per a similar recipe. Tasted like a moist chocolate cake - could not taste the Dr. Pepper in it. I used a chocolate glaze since I cannot eat peanut butter. Good cake, but don't expect any Dr. Pepper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I'm always amazed by people who come on and change the recipe and then gripe that the recipe didn't taste like it was supposed to. I made this exactly the way it says, and it was great. With 2 teen aged sons and all of their friends coming through the house it did not last 4 hours. I'm going to have to make 2 of them next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was my first attempt at baking a cake from scratch and it was goooood. I used Denton Dr. Pepper, and instead of marshmallows, I used chocolate chips. I also used a chocolate icing instead of the peanut butter. I will make again. (And again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Good. Doesn't taste like Dr. Pepper but is a good chocolate/peanut butter cake just the same. I followed the recipe exactly and it was very moist. However, the next day the icing wasn't nearly as good. I will only make this again if I can serve it immediately after making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very easy to make but it is very sweet and rich. My 10yo son made this and entered it into our county fair. He won first place so we think it is a winning recipe. Next time we will either use less sugar or leave out the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Wonderfully moist cake!! I love it!! I even subbed a Coke for the Dr. Pepper. I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chr28blonde
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This cake is for chocolate cake and peanut butter lovers! I made this cake for my co-workers birthday and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
OMG!!! This cake is the best cake i have ever had! I didnt change a thing it was perfect come on dr. pepper, peanut butter and marshmallows how can you go wrong!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States