Dr. Michael's Yeasted Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Like everyone else here at Allrecipes, I read the reviews and figure out what I want to change. So I cut the flour to 2 1/2 cups, changed the cornmeal to 1 cup, and dropped the water. It turned out quite nicely, everyone complimented me. It had much more of a cornbread flavor than the original recipe (according to some other reviewers) and spread with butter at the table tasted great. I liked it that I didn't have to turn on the oven and heat up the kitchen when it was already unseasonably hot. Cold ham, cold potato salad, cold broccoli salad, and this bread to fill up my kids who aren't old enough to appreciate the salads, made it a very nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
One of the BEST new additions to my bread recipe list in a long time. The interior of the bread has a warm golden color, from the cornmeal. The cornmeal also provided wonderful texture, and the slight flavor of corn was apparent. Milk and egg in the ingredients didn't hurt either. Reminiscent of a corn flavored brioche. Phenomenal crust---and lastly, try making toast from this bread, and you'll be very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This recipe makes really good breadsticks (kind of like the cornbread twists you can get at the store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roy, Utah, USA
Living In: Sunset, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
My husband made this recipe, (he is the bread maker in the family), and it lacked flavor. It needed more salt and sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Also makes great rolls. For a slightly chewy very moist bread, try rapid rise yeast and the express bake setting on your bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OFENJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
I have made this several times. It is wonderful!!! It goes well with any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oaksfan
Living In: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
Our family really loved this bread! I also served it with chili and also toasted it for breakfast. It was great both ways. My son who only likes store bought bread thought it was good. That's why I gave it 5 stars for kid friendly. Thanks for a good recipe I will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
Good bread w/ a nice texture. I made it to go with a big pot of chili on a cold Dec afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bonnieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
Very easy to do. I prepared mine in the bread machine dough cycle & then took it out and formed it into a turkey shape on the pan. It was the hit of the dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
This bread goes great with a hearty soup and salad. My family liked it best served warm. It was a little more crumbly the next day, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States