Dr. Michael's Yeasted Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I've been making this for several years now and love this recipe. It is best when warm, and I always make it to go with my 13 bean soup. It's light and the corn flavor is not overpowering, very subtle. As others have mentioned, it makes nice toast the next day. Very fine grained, high rising - has never failed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
It was a good bread, but not really a cornbread. I added a bit more sugar and cut back on the flour as noted by another reviewer. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This loaf had georgeous color and a very high rise, and a light, soft texture. Love what the cornmeal added. I had to modify it since I don't have a bread machine, and found that it didn't need all the flour called for. I warmed the milk, dissolved the yeast and sugar in it, then added the rest of the wet and then the dry ingredients. I kneaded it with my Kitchenaid for about 10 min, and baked it in a greased loaf pan at 375 for 35 min. When I took it out of the oven, I brushed the crust with melted butter, which I think I'll start doing with every bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
AWESOME BREAD! I made this bread with allrecipes Chicken Chili. The whole family loved it. I know I'll be making it again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This recipe made a perfect looking loaf of bread. But we prefer a regular quick bread type of cornbread or even a regular white bread over this. There was just something about the texture of the crust that seemed a little strange. However, we liked it much better after we toasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This bread is fabulous! The crust and taste can't be beat. I used 1 c. of whole wheat flour, and I let it rise twice. I baked my loaf in an 8 x 4 pan for 30 minutes. I also got five 1 1/2 inch rolls out of the recipe. Those baked for about 23 minutes and turned out nice and crusty. Verla and Dr. Michael, you both rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This turned out okay, more of a cake than a bread in my view, I've never found a bread with egg in that I really enjoyed. It was a gorgeous colour though, and had a very nice crust, but I did end up turning half into a bread pudding and half into croutons. However, if you like your bread sweet and eggy (challah fans?) you'll probably enjoy this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
I have made this twice. The first loaf was good but the second time I decreased the flour by 1/2 cup (very dry where we live) and I added a half tablespoon more sugar. This turned out great! Wonderful toast and sandwich bread. Not cornbread as I know it but great bread !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This was so good! My husband loved it and so did my 1 1/2 year old son. Very good with ham and beans as well as with butter. Nice the next day too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Also makes great rolls. For a slightly chewy very moist bread, try rapid rise yeast and the express bake setting on your bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OFENJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States