Dr. Michael's Yeasted Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
7-8-12 Recipe revisited, haven't made it in several years but remembered it and I have been on a cornbread mission last few days. Thought I would give it try again, here is what I did differently this time: used molasses (little bit I had leftover from another recipe), butter, water, dried milk pwdr, little more water. Seemed really dry in machine so I added a tiny bit more water. Original review from 2006: This is one of my fav bread machine recipes on this site. Its not really 'cornbread', but white bread with a hint of cornmeal. Sometimes when I make this, it seems dry in the machine so I add a little more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I really like this bread. A little like cornbread but its not like what you think of when you think traditional cornbread. The top of my loaf fell in during baking but it didn't effect the taste one bit. I definitly will be making this again. Would go great with stews or chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Let me start by saying I love cornbread and I love regular yeast breads and I did not really care for this. I had this recipe in my online recipe box and have been wanting to try it for a long time but am really dissapointed. It was edible with butter and honey but not something I went back to after the first slice. Usually you have to drag me away from bread! I guess it just wasn't for me...I think I'll try making some croutons or french toast with it. It's pretty bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Nice taste. This was the first loaf of bread that has ever burned in my breadmaker (Set on the lowest setting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
OK. Seemed more like egg bread than corn bread. I like a heartier bread. Update: I used half whole wheat flour, and I really like it this way. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Bread was ok. . This recipe leaves dense bread with little to no real taste. I made with soup, my kids said the bread was boring. I tried it and had to agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
the flavor is not much different from white bread. not bad, but not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Delicious bread with an interesting crust. There's just a hint of cornmeal on the crust. As previously mentioned this is great right out of the bread machine and even better the next day as toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Don't let the name fool you. This is NOT cornbread as you normally think of it. It is yeasted bread with cornmeal. I've made it many times. Comes out great. Wonderful taste. Great toast. It's one of my favorite BM recipes. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Very dense bread. The flavor was not what I was expecting. Nobody in my family cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States