Dr. Michael's Yeasted Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
My family loved this bread - it needed nothing more than a little butter. My daughter (who has never been a bread eater) ate this right away and asked for more. The recipe made a beautiful loaf of bread - it rose and baked above the pan. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, Dr. Michael!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Vincent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
whoever dr. michael is...the recipe worked for me only did one extra thingy and added some chili flakes...not alot and used butter and toasted it and man oh man...i will make it again thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Makes awesome french toast if you have any bread left over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This bread is so yummy! I have made it several times and it always turns out beautiful. My family loves this bread. It is so soft and light. I've made it exactly as written but I usually use 1 c cornmeal and 3 c flour, and I often replace the milk with buttermilk. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very good bread, but in the end I like my cornbread like cornbread, and my yeast bread without corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I reach for this recipe whenever I make chili - it's perfect! I add twice as much tabasco as is called for. I turn it out and shape it into two baguettes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Like everyone else here at Allrecipes, I read the reviews and figure out what I want to change. So I cut the flour to 2 1/2 cups, changed the cornmeal to 1 cup, and dropped the water. It turned out quite nicely, everyone complimented me. It had much more of a cornbread flavor than the original recipe (according to some other reviewers) and spread with butter at the table tasted great. I liked it that I didn't have to turn on the oven and heat up the kitchen when it was already unseasonably hot. Cold ham, cold potato salad, cold broccoli salad, and this bread to fill up my kids who aren't old enough to appreciate the salads, made it a very nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Very nice. Baked well in the breadmaker, would recommend using the light crust setting. Very light flavor, maybe a little more seasoning to make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
We liked both the taste and the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
7-8-12 Recipe revisited, haven't made it in several years but remembered it and I have been on a cornbread mission last few days. Thought I would give it try again, here is what I did differently this time: used molasses (little bit I had leftover from another recipe), butter, water, dried milk pwdr, little more water. Seemed really dry in machine so I added a tiny bit more water. Original review from 2006: This is one of my fav bread machine recipes on this site. Its not really 'cornbread', but white bread with a hint of cornmeal. Sometimes when I make this, it seems dry in the machine so I add a little more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States