Dr. Michael's Yeasted Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Tastes pretty good but the corn flavor is very mild. It does have a nice golden tone with crispy crust. Next time I would add slightly more liquid and use melted butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Made as directed, EXCEPT used 3 cups flour, and one cup cornmeal.Was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Andersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I almost never review stuff, but this recipe was very good! Easy to make, yummy! I followed recommendations to use 3 cups flour to 1 cup cornmeal, buttermilk instead of milk and I used 3 Tbs honey instead of sugar. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
These were pretty darn good, I want to thank the good DR. for this recipe. It's a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This is not a cornbread. It is a fluffy, soft yeast bread with a little bit of added texture and flavor from cornmeal. I used wholewheat flour and stoneground cornmeal, which is probably why I had to add extra water to the dough. I ended up shaping the dough into two small loaves, and they baked up beautifully. I served this with chilli, and everyone really enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
My kids absolute favorite bread! It's gone as soon as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAECAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
The bread turned out great, I did substitute buttermilk for the regular milk as that is all I had on hand and added 1/2 tsp garlic salt and 1/2 of a small jalopeno pepper diced so the bread was definitely not bland. I noticed that the dough was having a hard time forming into a ball, the dough was very wet which may have been due to my additions so I ended up adding another 1/2 cup flour and the dough immediately formed nicely. I used the dough cycle on my bread maker and then removed and formed 2 loaves which I cooked at 350 for 25 minutes. The bread has a beautiful crust that rose nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This makes a really impressive, pretty loaf. I usually make the dough in the bread maker and then give it one last rise on the stove in a bread pan and bake it at 350 for 30 minutes so I have a more traditionally shaped loaf. This bread rose very impressively and it baked a beautiful golden brown. Unfortunately, as some other reviewers noted, this bread is pretty bland. Its not even white bread bland, it's almost tasteless bland. It's not by any means inedible, nor is it bad, it's just not "good" if you know what I'm trying to say. It really needs more sweetness or maybe a splash of hot sauce for some zing. Pretty loaf, just not much flavor at all. May try again with some recipe modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is the most excellent recipe, great corn flavor and rises beautifully. I will use this bread to make my Thanksgiving stuffing this year. Thank you Dr. Michael!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Have tried several time and also experiemented. It's an unfortunate compromise and doesn't taste like great corn bread or great white bread. Needs something but didn't find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States