Dr. Bird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I made this cake as written and it turned out wonderfully. I like how high it rose while baking and stayed that way once cooled. The cake was done at the 75 minute mark, in my oven. Once cooled, I dusted it with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I love this cake! This is the exact recipe my mother and grandmother used. The smell of Dr. Bird cake baking reminds me of my childhood! It is an easy cake that tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I used 1 cup applesauce instead of 1 cup oil. It was AMAZING, super moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nzlorrynz
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Wonderful recipe, I made these into cupcakes for a children's party. Cooking time 20min. Makes about 28 small cupcakes. I added 1 1/2 c sugar instead of 2, added an extra banana and they still turned out great. I will definitely use this recipe again and the children loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I accidentally made a nice discovery! I forgot to add the eggs and it turned out great! Mind you, I halved the sugar and used 2/3 c. oil. That made the potential batter lighter so it didn't need the eggs for volume. GREAT starter recipe for modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rayna29

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
the cake didn't really taste like bananas or pineapple. it was very moist. I only cooked it for 50 mins which was long enough. i'm not sure i would try this recipe agin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is the exact recipe my family has been using for over 40 years. As a kid, when asked what kind of a cake I wanted, this was the one. We've always added a light glaze. Nothing esle is needed for this special treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I have made this cake for YEARS. My grandmother passed it down to me. We make ours in a bunt pan with a lemon glaze on it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is a dynamite cake, but, why are the instructions and baking times shown for a 10 inch tube pan and the photo of the finished product shown for a 13 x 9 pan (or a 17 x 11 pan)????? The baking times would differ based the type of pan used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This cake has been a family favorite for years. I always add a cream cheese frosting - absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States