Dr. Bird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I used 1 cup applesauce instead of 1 cup oil. It was AMAZING, super moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nzlorrynz
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Wonderful recipe, I made these into cupcakes for a children's party. Cooking time 20min. Makes about 28 small cupcakes. I added 1 1/2 c sugar instead of 2, added an extra banana and they still turned out great. I will definitely use this recipe again and the children loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I accidentally made a nice discovery! I forgot to add the eggs and it turned out great! Mind you, I halved the sugar and used 2/3 c. oil. That made the potential batter lighter so it didn't need the eggs for volume. GREAT starter recipe for modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rayna29

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
the cake didn't really taste like bananas or pineapple. it was very moist. I only cooked it for 50 mins which was long enough. i'm not sure i would try this recipe agin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is the exact recipe my family has been using for over 40 years. As a kid, when asked what kind of a cake I wanted, this was the one. We've always added a light glaze. Nothing esle is needed for this special treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I have made this cake for YEARS. My grandmother passed it down to me. We make ours in a bunt pan with a lemon glaze on it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is a dynamite cake, but, why are the instructions and baking times shown for a 10 inch tube pan and the photo of the finished product shown for a 13 x 9 pan (or a 17 x 11 pan)????? The baking times would differ based the type of pan used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This cake has been a family favorite for years. I always add a cream cheese frosting - absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Looked for a recipe for leftover crushed pineapples and overriped bananas. Found It!!! This recipe was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made this in a tube pan, it came out so moist. The texture and flavor are outstanding. I made a coconut glaze, a suggestion from a previous reviewer. The glaze and cake were a perfect match. I think that using a tube pan is the way to go for best results when baking this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States