Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I've made this recipe many times this fall and just finished making it for the second time today. The bread freezes well, and to replace the oil I use plain Greek yogurt and add walnuts, raisins and mini chocolate chips, depending on what I have available. Overall this a great recipe--thanks for sharing~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe, my family loves it. I have made it with fresh pumpkin, fresh cooked & mashed sweet potatoes, and fresh cooked & mashed butternut squash. Puree in the blender. Just be mindful of water content when using fresh. You may need to strain it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro Corbin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I've been making this recipe for over a year now. My 5 year old son is a picky eater and this is his favorite thing for me to bake for him. Excellent recipe, great balance of spices, I wouldn't change a thing. One tip: my oven always needs more time to bake, so i lower the temp by 15 degrees for the last 10 minutes and any additional time. Prevents the bread from over browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Love Love love this recipe. So delicious and yummy. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Howlett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a good while now. If the spices are doubled or tripled, it also works as a GlutenFree recipe for a number of GF flours. I tend to replace a couple of the eggs with ground flax and no one is the wiser. I've also used banana for the oil before and just greased my pans extra well. You can tweak this so many ways and it still turns out great! Base recipes like this are timeless. Thank you for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rbabyrolle
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Yummy. I made it as is and I think it tastes great. It is sweet so I think you could leave out a little sugar maybe a 1/2-1 cup less than directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I love this recipe. Quick and easy. I didn't add any water and upped the home grown pumpkin puree to 4 cups. I also cut the sugar back to two cups and doubled the spices. I'm giving them out as Christmas presents because they are so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This recipe was great...but I made a few alterations -Coconut oil instead of vegetable oil -Half of the flour was brown rice flour -Decreased the white sugar to 1 cup - 2 tbs of brown sugar -No cloves or ginger (didn't have any :'( ) -I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the wet ingredients Overall, the recipe was a great starting place. I just wanted it to have some healthy ingredients as well. P.S. I added the remaining batter into muffin tins. They make pretty good muffins. Bake for around 25 mins @ 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalila Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Really moist and tasty. Makes 3 small loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe is good, but I altered it to make it great. I use freshly ground spices which I doubled except for the salt, added a teaspoon of Madagascar vanilla, used half brown sugar and half white, and I doubled the pumpkin puree(this is optional, I had a huge can of pumpkin puree and wanted to use all of it). Everyone loved it. Next time I'm going to add orange or pineapple juice to the batter instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Koham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 6,169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States