Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this for the holidays. I thought the texture was great and the flavor good. I would have wanted a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this recipe today, and it turned out really well, right down to the 50 min. baking time. Made the recipe exactly as written except - I doubled the recipe, added 2 cups craisins, and it made 7 loaves 8" x 3 3/4" pans. Perfect for gifting. Thank you for a great recipe. It is a keeper -- with or without the craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Moist and delicious,a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Hurlburt Martynuik
Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My husband said this is soooo delicious. (I am not able to eat it because I'm allergic to gluten, but it sure smelled wonderful and had a beautiful consistency). As advised by some reviewers, I increased the ground ginger to 3/4 tsp., used 2 c white sugar and 1 c brown sugar instead of 3 c white sugar, and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I used small loaf pans (3 x 5) and it made 5. I'm giving 4 of these away to my neighbors for Christmas and my husband has already almost finished the other one, so I'll be making more very soon. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I used this as a base recipe, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I used 3/4 cups of applesauce instead of oil, to cut the fat down, took out 1 cup of sugar and added a cup of raisins. I made 3 mini loaf breads and used paper lining instead of greasing the pan. It came out really good. Every year me and my husband get fresh pumpkins and I prepare a bunch of puree and freeze it. I used strained water from boiling the fresh pumpkin instead of plain water and it really added a lot of extra flavor (so much so that I saved a few bags of pumpkin water). This recipe is definitely added into my yearly pumpkin-stuffs rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena Markos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I added 2tsp of vanilla and this was amazing I will keep this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Been using this recipe for a while - always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Making this into bread is much more moist than muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Before I rate a recipe, I always make it exactly as written. So I did it with this one too and loved the bread just as written. The texture, sweetness, and density was wonderful. The flavor is very subtle (not overwhelming) with a little spice. I made several mini loafs (for gifts) and one small loaf to taste (for my family). Rave reviews and just delicious! I wouldn't change a thing. Not sure why people think this was oily or too sweet ... not my experience at all. Great great recipe and I love that it makes such a large batch. This is my new go-to quick bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was pretty good. It seemed to need brown sugar, more spice, raisins and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 5,890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States