Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made this into mini muffins andUsed 3/4 cup applesauce and 1/4cup oil..10 minutes at 360 still....little powdered sugar yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martins Ferry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Excellent pumpkin bread! I've baked this recipe 3 times in the last week, each time trying to get it fine tuned for my tastes. Each recipe made 24 large muffins (22 mins) + 2 mini-loaves (25-28 mins). First time...I followed the recipe except using half cup oil + half cup melted butter + 1 cup chopped pecans..."Delicious!" everyone said, but I thought it was too sweet, needed a bit of molasses, and wasn't spicy enough. Second time...doubled all the spices, 0.5 cup oil + 0.5 cup melted butter, 2 cups dark brown sugar (no white sugar), 1 cup chopped pecans...very good but the cloves overpowered and had a bit too much molasses flavour (from the dark brown sugar). Third time...0.5 cup oil + 0.5 cup melted butter, 1.5 cups dark brown sugar + 1 cup white sugar, 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 1.5 tsp nutmeg, 0.5 tsp cloves, 0.5 tsp ginger, 1 cup chopped pecans...PERFECT!!! This is the magic bullet recipe I will be using forever! Laurie, Thanks for sharing your fantastic recipe...sorry that I amended it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Was determined to make this without going to the store - I didn't have oil so I used 1/2 C butter. I used 2 C brown sugar and 1 C white. Perfect pumpkin bread! Will make again soon when I have all ingredients and compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
When I stuck a fork in the center to test, it was gooey. I did the logical thing and licked the fork. SALTY. The other spices and pumpkin are barely noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe is a great jumping off point and is very forgiving - especially for people like me who don't always check to make sure I have all of the ingredients on hand before I start baking. Don't have enough oil? Use melted butter or applesauce. Only one cup of white sugar left? Substitute brown for the rest. I used a combo of oil and melted butter and 1 1/2 cups white sugar with 1 cup of brown sugar. I doubled the cinnamon and ginger because we like a lot of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Absolutely fantastic. Saw this in the magazine and decided to try it- best idea ever!!! Subbed half the oil for unsweetened applesauce and dropped 2 of the egg yolks and it was still absolutely phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ddpierson
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Love the recipe!! Made changes for gluten sensitivity. I used a gluten free baking mix coconut/palm sugar and coconut oil. I also used more of the spices then it originally called for. The result is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is the most wonderfull recipe I've ever tried! The bread was moist and just plain delicious!! Thank you for sharing!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe! I followed the recipe but did what Donna S did, and substituted 3 cups of sugar with 2 cups of sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar. I also added 1 tsp Vanilla. Since I didn't have enough flour I added 1 cup of pancake mix since I was short a cup of flour. I used glassware and it took a little longer as I used 9 x 5 loaf glassware.The results were excellent and my fellow employees loved it and asked for the recipe which I shared. Congrats Laurie on an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Chapa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erae84
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
While I love taking liberties when baking, I can't stand when people rate a recipe "5 Stars", then go on to say everything they changed about it. I wanted to review these for exactly what the recipe called for. They were pretty good. They were fairly uncomplicated, and have a nice, mellow taste. This was my first time making pumpkin bread from scratch. It was my hope that it would go far and beyond the Libby's Pumpkin Bread Kit I usually buy this time of year. It really didn't, but it was still good. This made one loaf and a dozen muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erae84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 6,111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States