Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Amazing recipe! To me it tasted a bit like pumpkin pie. A few changes that I did to the recipe was using parchment paper in the loaf pans instead of greasing and flouring, and 2 cups fresh pumpkin purée instead of canned. Such a good recipe. I will definitely be making more of this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Dyok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My favorite pumpkin bread. i have been making it for years. The original recipe is great however I always try to make it a little healthier with 3/4 cup of unsweetened apple sause and a 1/4 cup of oil. I also cut the sugar to 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 1/2 cup of white sugar. I also add a teaspoon of pumpkin spice and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is the best thing I have ever baked! I have been making this recipe for years, but I only registered on the site today so I thought I'd leave a comment. This pumpkin bread comes out perfect every time I make it and it impressed everyone who has ever tried it. I guess we can say this has become one of my signature dishes, so I just want to say a huge THANK YOU! (The only thing I've ever changed in this recipe is the amount of sugar - I only add 2 and 1/4, maximum 2,5 cups, and I use brown sugar instead of white.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pummi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LMPereira1
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The best pumpkin bread I've made so far. Absolutely delicious. Wouldn't change a thing! Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMPereira1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Holy Cow!!! Loved this. Scaled it down to one loaf, wish like heck that I hadn't. Super moist, super delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have made this every year since I found this recipe. Everyone loves "my" pumpkin bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this bread for Thanksgiving. Made it in a bundt pan (just the 1 pan instead of 2 loaf pans). Huge hit with everyone! Used fresh pumpkin. Had a little more pumpkin than 15 oz called for in the recipe - so used 1/2 cup of water instead of 2/3 cup. Used 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice because I did not have all of the spices called for in the recipe. Will make this again. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
By far the best pumpkin bread I've ever had! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this recipe a couple of times : first with half the ingredients and second just a third and both times it came out great! Very dense, but I fround from reading reviews of other recipes, that's your typical pumpkin bread and I actually like it - very hardy! I also increased the spices a bit(more cloves and cinnamon, as I like to know I'm eating an autumn flavored desert). And skipped the water(maybe that would have made it more fluffy?) but I will try adding some applesauce as others suggested or maybe some sour cream. I think it would add some richness. Also I mixed in and sprinkled toasted pumpkin seeds on top. I kept it simple because I'm bringing it for a Thankgiving dinner, otherwise I would also add toasted walnuts. Even though the recipe itself is right on the money, one has to add a few personal touches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freethinker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Almost Organic Version: 100% Whole Wheat Pastry Flour for ap flour, Fair Trade Organic Cane Sugar for cane sugar and Coconut Oil for vegetable oil. The pumpkin and spices could have been organic but the point of making this bread was to use the rest of the can of pumpkin I had in the fridge and all spices I had were the ones I've had for a while. Baking it now, but the batter tasted so delicious! And usually, but not always, the taste of the batter is a clue as to how good the pastry/bread is going to be! In my opinion :) I saw this recipe recommended from a friend who's a good baker so decided to try it. Will be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 6,182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States