Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I was a little skeptical that there were too many good reviews but it is as good as the reviews say. I did make some amendments....I replaced half the oil with apple butter, added about 1.5 cups of finely chopped pecans, and added a streusel topping and made 24 muffins instead of loaves, but it is seriously good, better the next day split and toasted with butter. Just terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Garland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
MADE NO MODIFICATIONS and this recipe is wonderful. I did a batch of mini muffins for 11-13 mins and they turned out so nice, my 2.5yr old and my five year old would have eaten ALL of them!! wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Love it, made it just the way it's instructed. Delicious and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I have made this recipe to a T for the last five years. Each year I make about 9 mini loaves (or 1lb loaf size) per batch and dispurse them among my coworkers for them to enjoy at their families thanksgiving dinner (it is up to them if they wish to share) and every year, people say how amazing they taste. I tell them about this recipe... This is delectable... Goes down like candy... Lol! Thank you, Laurie Bennett!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Pperfect as written, moist, wonderful,house smelled good. I will be making a lot more tonight for gifts. Best Pumpkin bread I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jc hammy
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
High altitude baking. Add 1/4 flour 1 extra egg. 1/4 c water. Bake at 375. Add pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now and both times I've received raves! I like to make the recipes as stated first, then add and/or change once we've tasted it. Next time, I will add either walnuts or toasted pumpkin seeds. Very yummy bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Moist but tasted oily and a bit 'blerggh'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Oh My Gosh! I just made these as muffins because I could not find my loaf pan. I added 1 cup of chocolate chips because I thought the combination of chocolate and pumpkin sounded divine. Baked for about 20 minutes in paper cup liners in muffin pans. It made 26 muffins. I gobbled down three warm ones because I could not stop at one. They were so YUMMY!!! This recipe is a keeper!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Followed the recipe almost exactly, instead of three full cups of sugar, I partially filled each cup, and put a little extra of each spice in and now I can't stop eating it! I also made some muffins and put Liz Lovely Pumpkin Fig granola on top, gives it a little texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle Deemer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,070) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States