Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious! Some alterations: I added chocolate chips and raisins, as well as substituting a banana for some of the vegetable oil. I also added some oatmeal, flax seed, and wheat germ, and used mostly wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I've made this a few times and my family and I LOVE it. It is a very dense bread, and my loaf pans are bigger so it takes almost 90 minutes to bake at 325. I turn the oven down so the outside doesn't get over-done. I always add raisins to one batch for my husband, and chocolate chips to the other batch for everyone. Last night I accidentally opened a 30 oz can of pumpkin instead of the 15 oz, so I made 2 loaves w/raisins, 28 muffins and 1 small 3x5 loaf w/chocolate chips. I used 4 cups white sugar and 2 cups brown sugar. It's disappearing fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Amazing recipe! To me it tasted a bit like pumpkin pie. A few changes that I did to the recipe was using parchment paper in the loaf pans instead of greasing and flouring, and 2 cups fresh pumpkin purée instead of canned. Such a good recipe. I will definitely be making more of this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Dyok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My favorite pumpkin bread. i have been making it for years. The original recipe is great however I always try to make it a little healthier with 3/4 cup of unsweetened apple sause and a 1/4 cup of oil. I also cut the sugar to 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 1/2 cup of white sugar. I also add a teaspoon of pumpkin spice and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is the best thing I have ever baked! I have been making this recipe for years, but I only registered on the site today so I thought I'd leave a comment. This pumpkin bread comes out perfect every time I make it and it impressed everyone who has ever tried it. I guess we can say this has become one of my signature dishes, so I just want to say a huge THANK YOU! (The only thing I've ever changed in this recipe is the amount of sugar - I only add 2 and 1/4, maximum 2,5 cups, and I use brown sugar instead of white.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pummi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LMPereira1
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The best pumpkin bread I've made so far. Absolutely delicious. Wouldn't change a thing! Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMPereira1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Holy Cow!!! Loved this. Scaled it down to one loaf, wish like heck that I hadn't. Super moist, super delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have made this every year since I found this recipe. Everyone loves "my" pumpkin bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this bread for Thanksgiving. Made it in a bundt pan (just the 1 pan instead of 2 loaf pans). Huge hit with everyone! Used fresh pumpkin. Had a little more pumpkin than 15 oz called for in the recipe - so used 1/2 cup of water instead of 2/3 cup. Used 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice because I did not have all of the spices called for in the recipe. Will make this again. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
By far the best pumpkin bread I've ever had! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States