Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
It's a solid recipe. You're guaranteed a very moist, flavorful result - the perfect accompaniment to a warm drink on a cool Autumn day. For a healthier loaf, you can substitute applesauce for half the oil and use whole wheat flour for half of the all-purpose flour. I would recommend cutting back the sugar to 2 cups. You can even substitute brown sugar for half the sugar for a deeper molasses flavor. When I'm tinkering with the recipe, I like to use apple juice instead of water and spice things up with 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp each of ginger, allspice, cloves, and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
There was nothing wrong with it and everyone ate it... but there were comments about a lack of spicing and moisture. I believe making two loaves from this, as opposed to three, would help with dryness. We just found it somewhat bland and I wouldn't put the work into it for this particular quality. Sorry- usually I'm right on board with the majority rating but I can't do it this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Love this! Always make two larger 8 x 5 loaves. One with 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips, one without. Follow other reviewers by cutting back a little on the white sugar (reduce 1/2 -3/4 cup) and substituting 1 cup of white sugar for 1 cup of brown sugar. Prefer to add the splash of vanilla and always add 1 tsp more cinnamon. When I am in a rush, I add all the wet ingredients and sugars, beat well; add dry leavener and spices to distribute evenly, then add flour and mix thoroughly. This is a convenient short cut and has not affected the outcome, yet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Seriously, this pumpkin bread was just *meh*. It made SO much. Had it been an outstanding recipe, I wouldn't have minded having so much. I gave some away to my husbands co-workers. My husband had been cutting back for an upcoming PT test and said the ONE thing he wanted when it was over, was pumpkin bread. We were both underwhelmed to say the least. It wasn't thick, dense, or moist, it just crumbled. The spices were off to and there wasn't a strong pumpkin flavor. I wont be making this again. PS, I made no substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Esposito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
The search for the best pumpkin recipe is over! This is the most delicious pumpkin bread ever! Moist, with all the right spices, and SO EASY to make! You can freeze it, and because it makes 3 loaves, it's such a perfect holiday gift. This is a KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
The best! My family loves when fall comes around because of this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I really liked this but modified to make it a little healthier. I double the spices. Cut sugar to 1 cup (1/2 white, 1/2 brown). Omit 2 eggs and replace with 2T flax seed and 6T water. Oil - cut it in half or altogether and sub with applesauce. I usually like to do at least half oil, half applesauce. The oil gives it a nice texture but I do it without most times. Using whole wheat white flour makes it better too, and you can't taste the difference. As is this recipe is fine, maybe too much sugar for my taste. I'm always trying to find healthier versions of my favorites and hope this modified version helps the health conscious. Today I forgot to add the oil/applesauce - oops - and it still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Ralston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was the yummiest pumpkin loaf I have tried. Cooked exactly as recipe directed. Made three large loaf pans. My family loved it as did the neighbours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Excellent-made 2 loaves, not 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSteggy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Excellent - tasty and moist. Kids love it. Even better is the healthy version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 6,065) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States