Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Followed the recipe almost exactly, instead of three full cups of sugar, I partially filled each cup, and put a little extra of each spice in and now I can't stop eating it! I also made some muffins and put Liz Lovely Pumpkin Fig granola on top, gives it a little texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle Deemer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This recipe is by far one of the best pumpkin bread recipes ever! I only make two changes: use applesauce instead of oil and add semi-sweet chocolate chips. Amazingly delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Didn't taste like pumpkin at all. It tasted more like a spice bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Love this recipe. I make it in a bundt pan with a cup of crushed pecans in the bottom and I also double all the spices in it. Added an 1/8 tsp of cardamom this time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DameLibelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is amazing!! My family raved about it and I'll be making it for the upcoming holidays. I read a lot of other reviews, took notes, and decided upon the following changes: I used 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce instead of all the oil. I used 1 c. white sugar and 1 c. packed brown sugar instead of 3 cups of white sugar. Added 1 tsp. of vanilla and the following spices 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. cloves, 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 tsp. ginger and 1 c. chopped walnuts. I watched the video and used a mixer which wasn't clear in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Love this recipe. I use it for loaves and for muffins/cupcakes. I like to make it a touch healthier but cutting the sugar down to 2 1/4 cups, switching the eggs out for flaxseed meal, and replacing half the oil with applesauce. These changes bring out the spices a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookitup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made this recipe, but I didn't have all of the individual spices needed. So I used a pumpkin spice mix (which includes all of the spices in the recipe) and the bread came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Gave this recipe as gifts during the holidays. Yummy toasted with a little butter for a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This recipe is very good, but I made a few changes to make it even better. I used a 29oz can of pumpkin, divided the sugar into 1 cup white, 1.5 cups brown, and 1/2 cup molasses, omitted the water, used 1/2 cup oil and substituted the other 1/2 cup needed with plain applesauce, used 3 cups AP flour and 1/2 cup oat bran. I poured the mix into 2 large loaf pans and baked a little over an hour. The bread turned out extremely moist and it's absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Convery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I loved it. Added 1 tsp of ground cardamom. Substituted 1 cup of flour for oatmeal 1 cup. Added chia seeds 1 tablespoon. Topped with pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 6,170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States