Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Yummy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
A co-worker asked for this recipe right away! However, I did make a few modifications. I used 2 cups of sugar instead of 3 and substituted half of the oil with applesauce. Next time I make it, I'm going to up the applesauce to 3/4 C to make it a little more moist. Otherwise, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is one awesome recipe!! The pumpkin bread was delicious, very moist. I took a loaf to work and everyone raved about it. I did add 1 t. vanilla as suggested by one of the reviews. I also tried substituting 2 cups bananas for the pumpkin and 1 c butter for the vegetable oil and it was still awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This bread was delicious!! The only thing I did different was add chocolate chips! And truly it would've been great with out them too! Thank u for sharing this recipe with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written and found it to be great flavour but too greasy (left a slice on the kitchen counter overnight and it was still moist the next day) and a little too sweet. I will definitely make again but halve the oil and use 2 cups sugar instead, as many others have suggested. I did also add a dash of vanilla extract to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Amazing! I've been making this recipe for a few years. It is incredible. I only get two loaves, not three, because my bread pans are a bit larger than recommended in the recipe. I reduce the sugar to 2 cups: 1 c. brown and 1 c. white sugar. It's still exceptionally delicious this way, but with as much sugar as I ingest, I try to reduce it when possible. I also use heaping measurements of the spices because we like it spicey. We love snacking on this pumpkin bread each fall and winter. :) **Update** I have recently discovered that by placing a 9x9 baking pan filled halfway with water on the rack below the bread, the loaves come out more moist, and they are evenly moist throughout with a lightly crisp crust. Who knew this recipe could get any better?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookTo$ave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
one word, GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I made this last night, and what a great recipe! I used fresh pumpkin puree (from a small sugar pumpkin yielding just about 2 cups of puree). Followed the recipe pretty closely other than that substitution of fresh for canned. The recipe perfectly filled three 8 1/2" x 3" foil loaf pans. It did take about 15 minutes more to bake to done, but I'm guessing that might be because fresh pumpkin might contain more water than canned. (Though I did let the cooked pumpkin drain in a collander lined with coffee filters, and got a LOT of water out that way). I have two loaves up in the freezer, and they'll be coming down when I have a housefull of company at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Yummy! I added a bag of white chocolate chips to batter and they melted making scrumptious little sweet "pits" in the bread after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This turned out delicious! I used Trader Joe's Pumpkin Pie Spice in lieu of all of the other spices, and added a little extra ? I have been asked for the recipe by 3 people already! It's easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 6,155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States