Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a good while now. If the spices are doubled or tripled, it also works as a GlutenFree recipe for a number of GF flours. I tend to replace a couple of the eggs with ground flax and no one is the wiser. I've also used banana for the oil before and just greased my pans extra well. You can tweak this so many ways and it still turns out great! Base recipes like this are timeless. Thank you for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rbabyrolle
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Yummy. I made it as is and I think it tastes great. It is sweet so I think you could leave out a little sugar maybe a 1/2-1 cup less than directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I love this recipe. Quick and easy. I didn't add any water and upped the home grown pumpkin puree to 4 cups. I also cut the sugar back to two cups and doubled the spices. I'm giving them out as Christmas presents because they are so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This recipe was great...but I made a few alterations -Coconut oil instead of vegetable oil -Half of the flour was brown rice flour -Decreased the white sugar to 1 cup - 2 tbs of brown sugar -No cloves or ginger (didn't have any :'( ) -I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the wet ingredients Overall, the recipe was a great starting place. I just wanted it to have some healthy ingredients as well. P.S. I added the remaining batter into muffin tins. They make pretty good muffins. Bake for around 25 mins @ 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalila Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Really moist and tasty. Makes 3 small loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe is good, but I altered it to make it great. I use freshly ground spices which I doubled except for the salt, added a teaspoon of Madagascar vanilla, used half brown sugar and half white, and I doubled the pumpkin puree(this is optional, I had a huge can of pumpkin puree and wanted to use all of it). Everyone loved it. Next time I'm going to add orange or pineapple juice to the batter instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Koham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I did not deviate from the original recipe even though I was tempted!!! Mine turned out tasty, but just a little dry. Wasn't as moist as I had hoped for. So next time...and there will be a next time...I am going to take some of the other reviewers advice and see what happens. I really like this recipe and have high hopes it will meet my expectations the next time around. Thanks Laurie Bennett for this recipe and hopefully I will get it right!!! I will change my rating if it does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I had high hopes for this recipe because of the reviews, but it completely fell short. The middle of the bread never fully cooked despite extra time in the oven and the bottom was a bit burned too. Not sure what happened, but wouldn't use this recipe again when there are others that are easier and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Personally I loved this spicy and dense bread. My husband prefers the other recipe I usually make - but this one has better ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Awesome! I've made this three times now and everyone loves it. It was gobbled up fast when I made it to go with Thanksgiving dinner. I did make a few alterations: I used 1/4 cup of vegetable oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the 1 cup of vegetable oil and I used 2 1/2 cups of sucanat instead of 3 cups of sugar. The loaves were moist and sweet, tasted like pumpkin pie only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 6,156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States