Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is my favorite pumpkin bread recipe. I make this gluten free by substituting Jules Gluten Free all purpose flour for the regular flour & using olive oil - same measurements You cannot tell the difference. I also have been know to add 3 tbsp pumpkin pie spice instead of each individual spice - depending on what I have on hand. Either way, it turns out perfectly & freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Best pumpkin bread ever! I double the spices because I like it extra flavorful, but it is moist and bakes perfectly every time. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is absolutely the BEST pumpkin bread I have ever tried. I have been making it for quite awhile now. Somebody wrote that it tastes better after a day or 2 and that is very true. I give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Loved this!! The texture is very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This was delicious. Made some for my kids to try since this was our first pumpkin bread. It was a hit!!! My oldest kids insist we make this all the time. We loved it so much we made holiday loaves & muffins (w/pecans on top) for our friends and neighbors. This recipes was super easy and made a large amount which was great. Didn't have to cut out sugar cookies all day. This will definitely be in our recipe box from here on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I loved this recipe! I had bigger loaf pans so I made two larger loaves. I had a good crop of butternut squash this year so I used that instead of the canned pumpkin. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie Lok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This is a really great recipe! A couple of items...first, the original recipe makes A LOT! I am glad I had 3 cups of flour, but since we are a family of four, I might just cut the recipe in 1/2 next time. I wanted to cut the oil in 1/2...and didn't have apples or applesauce...so I used apple and plum baby puree and it worked just great! Just a couple of useful notes--I baked muffins 3/4 full and they took 23mins to cook. the muffins kinda stuck to the muffin cups so it may be best (if using the lower fat recipe) to just spray the muffin tins well with a non-stick spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
old school perfect yum. the only recipe i'll ever use... just like moms and nana's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent recipe just as it is. I use all fresh spices and add chocolate chips sometimes, and it always comes out perfect! Just a thought... I wish there was one section for rating and reviewing recipes and another for suggestions. It's very difficult to get accurate opinions on these recipes when they are rated on something entirely different. "This was 5 stars, of course after I changed and substituted 85% of the ingredients on the list.". Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is my go to recipe!! Love it and the kids always beg me to make it. I double the recipe and make about 6 loaves...great gift during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 6,169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States