Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Loved it!! made a few changes 1/2 ginger, 1/2 cup of vegetable oil, 1/2 cup applesauce, 1 tablespoon Vanilla:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I baked this recipe exactly as stated - It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I love it!! It was amazingly good! Moist and tasteful, an incredible great recipe!! I did the same recipe with a little change. I cut the sugar, I just added 2 1/2 cups and used the same amount of ground ginger but I also add fresh grated ginger. Also add walnuts. It was sooo yummy!! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Candelario

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I picked this recipe after opening a can of pumpkin puree and using a tablespoon for the dog. Usually make the pumpkin zucchini bread on this site, but didn't have zucchini. Every fall, when I start craving pumpkin baked goods, I forget to modify the spices - I don't like full on pumpkin pie spice and usually half the nutmeg and ginger, and just use a pinch of cloves. As usual, remembered when I tasted the dough, had that pumpkin pie sharpness, so added a teaspoon of vanilla to cut the spice, and a cup of chopped walnuts, then sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top. The spices baked out, could hardly taste them in the first slice, which I thought was a bit bland, but nice and moist - but after I went back for the third slice, decided it was actually very good. the topping does add that extra needed taste to it. Did one 9x5 loaf pan, and have enough for one more pan,and maybe some muffins for tomorrow. Will keep this one on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
The absolute best pumpkin bread I have ever had. I made it for a church event and ended up making more the next day for us..Yummy good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Excellent. I subbed 1/4 cup applesauce for one of the eggs and 1 cup brown sugar for one of the cups of white sugar. Delicious. Perfectly divided into 3 small (disposable, about 7"long x 4"wide) aluminum bake pans. Put chocolate chips in one of them for the chocolate lovers in my house. YUMMMM! Great dairy-free recipe with no butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe. I added a 1/2tsp more clove/cinnamon/nutmeg each. I dropped the oil to 3/4 a cup. And, dropped the sugar to 2 1/2 cups raw sugar. And, I pureed 2 golden delicious apples in the water and added them for more moisture. For the flour I did 1 cup whole wheat, 1 cup almond flour, and 1 1/3 cup coconut flour. For 1 loaf I added chocolate chips. To another I added cranberries, to another I added fruit bits. I drizzled organic honey over each uncooked loaf. It has lots of flavor, is super moist, and even my autistic son, who wont eat hardly anything, keeps asking me for more of the 'chocolatey pumpkin bread'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dwan Suggs Buddin
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made this wonderful pumpkin bread recipe..but, I tweaked it a bit. Instead of water use buttermilk! I also used kitchen shears and added in about 5 ounces of dried plums and about 1/2 cup of walnuts, about a tsp. of vanilla. This was truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dwan Suggs Buddin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly except for I made to bigger loaves. Absolutely amazing! No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I found it to be really good but a little on the dry side so instead of water I used Widmer Okto beer if you cannot find it look for Redhook pumpkin porter beer, then I did my mom's old school trick of letting it cool then wrap tightly with saran wrap and fridge it over night, made them nice and most :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 5,926) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States