Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I was able to make a 7x3 loaf and 20 muffins from this recipe. I used 15 oz. of pureed sugar pumpkin I roasted myself, left out the cloves (didn't have any) and used Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Flour swapped for 100% of the AP flour. I also sprinkled with some organic pepitas before baking. These were light, fluffy and tasteful and make for a perfect fall treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Wonderful. I like to add 1 1/2 cups chipped pecans to the batter. Excellent warm from the oven and spread with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is a wonderful, moist bread, great for gift-giving! At my sons request, I added chocolate-chips to the recipe, which made it more like a dessert cake. I would add chopped nuts to the recipe, with candied walnuts or pecans to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I used fresh pumpkin to make puree and didn't have any cloves, also used half butter half olive oil - all changes just based on availability. But it turned out amazing as little heart muffin size and 2 larger loafs. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine McCrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This was amazing! I only made one small change, I didnt have any spices so i added a 20oz can of ready to use pumpkin pie filling. It basically had the pumpkin and all the spices so I figured it would work and it did! It wasnt very dense but nobody cared, it was more like a cake so the fact that i made muffins with it was a hit. Im sure i will be making this a lot from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Loved it!! made a few changes 1/2 ginger, 1/2 cup of vegetable oil, 1/2 cup applesauce, 1 tablespoon Vanilla:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I baked this recipe exactly as stated - It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I love it!! It was amazingly good! Moist and tasteful, an incredible great recipe!! I did the same recipe with a little change. I cut the sugar, I just added 2 1/2 cups and used the same amount of ground ginger but I also add fresh grated ginger. Also add walnuts. It was sooo yummy!! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Candelario

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I picked this recipe after opening a can of pumpkin puree and using a tablespoon for the dog. Usually make the pumpkin zucchini bread on this site, but didn't have zucchini. Every fall, when I start craving pumpkin baked goods, I forget to modify the spices - I don't like full on pumpkin pie spice and usually half the nutmeg and ginger, and just use a pinch of cloves. As usual, remembered when I tasted the dough, had that pumpkin pie sharpness, so added a teaspoon of vanilla to cut the spice, and a cup of chopped walnuts, then sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top. The spices baked out, could hardly taste them in the first slice, which I thought was a bit bland, but nice and moist - but after I went back for the third slice, decided it was actually very good. the topping does add that extra needed taste to it. Did one 9x5 loaf pan, and have enough for one more pan,and maybe some muffins for tomorrow. Will keep this one on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 5,916) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States