Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I used this as a base recipe, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I used 3/4 cups of applesauce instead of oil, to cut the fat down, took out 1 cup of sugar and added a cup of raisins. I made 3 mini loaf breads and used paper lining instead of greasing the pan. It came out really good. Every year me and my husband get fresh pumpkins and I prepare a bunch of puree and freeze it. I used strained water from boiling the fresh pumpkin instead of plain water and it really added a lot of extra flavor (so much so that I saved a few bags of pumpkin water). This recipe is definitely added into my yearly pumpkin-stuffs rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena Markos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I added 2tsp of vanilla and this was amazing I will keep this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Been using this recipe for a while - always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Making this into bread is much more moist than muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Before I rate a recipe, I always make it exactly as written. So I did it with this one too and loved the bread just as written. The texture, sweetness, and density was wonderful. The flavor is very subtle (not overwhelming) with a little spice. I made several mini loafs (for gifts) and one small loaf to taste (for my family). Rave reviews and just delicious! I wouldn't change a thing. Not sure why people think this was oily or too sweet ... not my experience at all. Great great recipe and I love that it makes such a large batch. This is my new go-to quick bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was pretty good. It seemed to need brown sugar, more spice, raisins and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
A good pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Only had two 9x5 loaf pans. Took 90 minutes to bake. They were excellent, especially with the addition of dried cranberries and walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Great recipe. Made about 3 dozen muffins instead of loaves. Used 1/2cup applesauce, 1/2cup oil. Added walnuts and raisins. Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This recipe is best when 1 cup of chocolate chips is added to it. I always have to make a double batch because it is gone too soon. It freezes we'll and is tastiest after it has sat for a day- all the favors intensify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 5,876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States