Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Bound to be a new family favorite. Simple, without being bland. Flavorful, without being spicy. Just perfect. Went with the two 9 x 7 pans option, so they had to cook a bit longer before the toothpick came out clean, but everything else was by the book. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was the best Pumpkin Bread I've ever tasted. I halved the recipe since I didn't need so many loaves, and I had to bake it for an extra 15 minutes since it wasn't all the way cooked in the middle at the 50 minute mark. But I used the ingredients listed above (no substitutions), it looked exactly as pictured, and the taste was amazing. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Great recipe made about 1.5 dozen LARGE muffins. I did the half oil half apple sauce and added 1 cup chocolate chips for the girls! My sister and I loved them so much they only lasted a couple days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy Panico
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Totally addictive and pleasing to the pallete. I tried this with chopped pecans and yellow raisins. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Yummy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
A co-worker asked for this recipe right away! However, I did make a few modifications. I used 2 cups of sugar instead of 3 and substituted half of the oil with applesauce. Next time I make it, I'm going to up the applesauce to 3/4 C to make it a little more moist. Otherwise, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is one awesome recipe!! The pumpkin bread was delicious, very moist. I took a loaf to work and everyone raved about it. I did add 1 t. vanilla as suggested by one of the reviews. I also tried substituting 2 cups bananas for the pumpkin and 1 c butter for the vegetable oil and it was still awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This bread was delicious!! The only thing I did different was add chocolate chips! And truly it would've been great with out them too! Thank u for sharing this recipe with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written and found it to be great flavour but too greasy (left a slice on the kitchen counter overnight and it was still moist the next day) and a little too sweet. I will definitely make again but halve the oil and use 2 cups sugar instead, as many others have suggested. I did also add a dash of vanilla extract to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Amazing! I've been making this recipe for a few years. It is incredible. I only get two loaves, not three, because my bread pans are a bit larger than recommended in the recipe. I reduce the sugar to 2 cups: 1 c. brown and 1 c. white sugar. It's still exceptionally delicious this way, but with as much sugar as I ingest, I try to reduce it when possible. I also use heaping measurements of the spices because we like it spicey. We love snacking on this pumpkin bread each fall and winter. :) **Update** I have recently discovered that by placing a 9x9 baking pan filled halfway with water on the rack below the bread, the loaves come out more moist, and they are evenly moist throughout with a lightly crisp crust. Who knew this recipe could get any better?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookTo$ave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 6,169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States