Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Fulgoni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious! Some alterations: I added chocolate chips and raisins, as well as substituting a banana for some of the vegetable oil. I also added some oatmeal, flax seed, and wheat germ, and used mostly wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I've made this a few times and my family and I LOVE it. It is a very dense bread, and my loaf pans are bigger so it takes almost 90 minutes to bake at 325. I turn the oven down so the outside doesn't get over-done. I always add raisins to one batch for my husband, and chocolate chips to the other batch for everyone. Last night I accidentally opened a 30 oz can of pumpkin instead of the 15 oz, so I made 2 loaves w/raisins, 28 muffins and 1 small 3x5 loaf w/chocolate chips. I used 4 cups white sugar and 2 cups brown sugar. It's disappearing fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Amazing recipe! To me it tasted a bit like pumpkin pie. A few changes that I did to the recipe was using parchment paper in the loaf pans instead of greasing and flouring, and 2 cups fresh pumpkin purée instead of canned. Such a good recipe. I will definitely be making more of this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Dyok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My favorite pumpkin bread. i have been making it for years. The original recipe is great however I always try to make it a little healthier with 3/4 cup of unsweetened apple sause and a 1/4 cup of oil. I also cut the sugar to 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 1/2 cup of white sugar. I also add a teaspoon of pumpkin spice and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is the best thing I have ever baked! I have been making this recipe for years, but I only registered on the site today so I thought I'd leave a comment. This pumpkin bread comes out perfect every time I make it and it impressed everyone who has ever tried it. I guess we can say this has become one of my signature dishes, so I just want to say a huge THANK YOU! (The only thing I've ever changed in this recipe is the amount of sugar - I only add 2 and 1/4, maximum 2,5 cups, and I use brown sugar instead of white.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pummi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LMPereira1
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The best pumpkin bread I've made so far. Absolutely delicious. Wouldn't change a thing! Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMPereira1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Holy Cow!!! Loved this. Scaled it down to one loaf, wish like heck that I hadn't. Super moist, super delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have made this every year since I found this recipe. Everyone loves "my" pumpkin bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this bread for Thanksgiving. Made it in a bundt pan (just the 1 pan instead of 2 loaf pans). Huge hit with everyone! Used fresh pumpkin. Had a little more pumpkin than 15 oz called for in the recipe - so used 1/2 cup of water instead of 2/3 cup. Used 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice because I did not have all of the spices called for in the recipe. Will make this again. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 6,185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States