Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have made this every year since I found this recipe. Everyone loves "my" pumpkin bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this bread for Thanksgiving. Made it in a bundt pan (just the 1 pan instead of 2 loaf pans). Huge hit with everyone! Used fresh pumpkin. Had a little more pumpkin than 15 oz called for in the recipe - so used 1/2 cup of water instead of 2/3 cup. Used 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice because I did not have all of the spices called for in the recipe. Will make this again. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
By far the best pumpkin bread I've ever had! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this recipe a couple of times : first with half the ingredients and second just a third and both times it came out great! Very dense, but I fround from reading reviews of other recipes, that's your typical pumpkin bread and I actually like it - very hardy! I also increased the spices a bit(more cloves and cinnamon, as I like to know I'm eating an autumn flavored desert). And skipped the water(maybe that would have made it more fluffy?) but I will try adding some applesauce as others suggested or maybe some sour cream. I think it would add some richness. Also I mixed in and sprinkled toasted pumpkin seeds on top. I kept it simple because I'm bringing it for a Thankgiving dinner, otherwise I would also add toasted walnuts. Even though the recipe itself is right on the money, one has to add a few personal touches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freethinker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Almost Organic Version: 100% Whole Wheat Pastry Flour for ap flour, Fair Trade Organic Cane Sugar for cane sugar and Coconut Oil for vegetable oil. The pumpkin and spices could have been organic but the point of making this bread was to use the rest of the can of pumpkin I had in the fridge and all spices I had were the ones I've had for a while. Baking it now, but the batter tasted so delicious! And usually, but not always, the taste of the batter is a clue as to how good the pastry/bread is going to be! In my opinion :) I saw this recipe recommended from a friend who's a good baker so decided to try it. Will be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jaydee
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have been spending over $3 for pumpkin bread at Starbucks, this recipe is money saving and way BETTER! The loaf is moist and delicious. I shared my loaf with my co workers at work and they said it was THE BEST pumpkin bread they have tasted. Thank you for the $avings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by navelring7
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
this is the absolute BEST pumpkin spice bread recipe! it makes a heavy, moist loaf. the recipe actually makes 5 huge 3x5 loaves of bread. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla, and 4 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice in place of the other spices. this is positively divine! I must try it with the drizzled cinnamon butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by navelring7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Amazing pumpkin bread! This recipe is the best. Everyone loved it and its super easy. I followed the recipe to a T. Dont change anything. You wont be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was the BEST pumpkin bread we have ever made. I highly recommend this recipe! We normally use half whole wheat flour and half white flour. That gives it a great texture and a great flavor. I only used two cups of sugar instead of three, and its still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I was a little skeptical that there were too many good reviews but it is as good as the reviews say. I did make some amendments....I replaced half the oil with apple butter, added about 1.5 cups of finely chopped pecans, and added a streusel topping and made 24 muffins instead of loaves, but it is seriously good, better the next day split and toasted with butter. Just terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Garland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,080) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States