Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
The absolute best pumpkin bread I have ever had. I made it for a church event and ended up making more the next day for us..Yummy good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Excellent. I subbed 1/4 cup applesauce for one of the eggs and 1 cup brown sugar for one of the cups of white sugar. Delicious. Perfectly divided into 3 small (disposable, about 7"long x 4"wide) aluminum bake pans. Put chocolate chips in one of them for the chocolate lovers in my house. YUMMMM! Great dairy-free recipe with no butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe. I added a 1/2tsp more clove/cinnamon/nutmeg each. I dropped the oil to 3/4 a cup. And, dropped the sugar to 2 1/2 cups raw sugar. And, I pureed 2 golden delicious apples in the water and added them for more moisture. For the flour I did 1 cup whole wheat, 1 cup almond flour, and 1 1/3 cup coconut flour. For 1 loaf I added chocolate chips. To another I added cranberries, to another I added fruit bits. I drizzled organic honey over each uncooked loaf. It has lots of flavor, is super moist, and even my autistic son, who wont eat hardly anything, keeps asking me for more of the 'chocolatey pumpkin bread'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dwan Suggs Buddin
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made this wonderful pumpkin bread recipe..but, I tweaked it a bit. Instead of water use buttermilk! I also used kitchen shears and added in about 5 ounces of dried plums and about 1/2 cup of walnuts, about a tsp. of vanilla. This was truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dwan Suggs Buddin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly except for I made to bigger loaves. Absolutely amazing! No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I found it to be really good but a little on the dry side so instead of water I used Widmer Okto beer if you cannot find it look for Redhook pumpkin porter beer, then I did my mom's old school trick of letting it cool then wrap tightly with saran wrap and fridge it over night, made them nice and most :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I love to add raisins and walnuts too!!! I am not much for the strong taste of cloves, so would delete that spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I know people hate it when you change a recipe, but I used yams instead of pumpkin and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leinad Silloh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Wow. Very good bread and serious sugar overload. Tastes great reducing sugar to two cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
The preparation time was quick and the end result was hearty and moist. I used some home-made Pumpkin Butter on a slice and both definitely work well together. A smear of Philly is also-needless to say-a great topping for this yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,896) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States