Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Great recipe and thank you for sharing it. This is one of the tastiest, easiest breads I have tried to date. The aroma while it was baking drove my husband crazy. I didn't have any oil (other than grapeseed), so I used 1/2 melted butter and 1/2 greek yogurt. I don't like to change a recipe before I test it, it was just done out of necessity. I doubled the recipe because I had a 28 oz. can and baked 2 - 9 X 13 pans for 70 minutes. Yum this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
As a New Englander, I advise you do NOT ignore the five stars earned by this recipe! I have made it several times in the past several months, sometimes adding raisins, or walnuts, NEITHER of which is at all necessary! Suggestion: use two full sized loaf pans (9x5) to get a lofty loaf that bakes to the top of the pans. Since I use sea salt, I routinely cut the salt to half; and always bake with unbleached flour. (Safflower oil is my non-GMO veggie oil of choice.) You will get I lots of compliments with this wonderful bread. Thanks Laurie! We will enjoy this one for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This is by far the BEST pumpkin bread I have EVER had. It makes about three loaves in a 9x5/8x4 loaf pan which is plenty to eat and have some to freeze for later! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Hickman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This is the best pumpkin bread ever!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I must have done something wrong because this wasn't delicious like I thought it would be. It was bland and stiff. I will try this again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This is very delicious. It tastes just like it came from a gourmet bakery! I did alter the sugar, I used 1-1/2 cup white sugar and 1-1/2 cup dark brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
My mother-in-law asked me for the recipe - it was THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I did one cup turbinado sugar, 1/2 cup agave, 1 tsp green stevia. Super yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wolfe Frye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Excellent and delicious!!! I use this recipe exactly but I make muffins with it instead of bread. It makes about 3 dozen muffins. I bake it for my family at the holidays and for my co-workers. It has become a hit and people ask for it repeatedly! The muffins are moist and scrumptious! This is one of my favorite recipes for baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States