Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Moist, delicious, and easy. I use 2-3 t of pumpkin pie spice rather than separate spices. Great recipe for Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Followed the recipe as written. Mild taste, moist and very easy recipe. If you're looking for a Starbucks kinda pumpkin bread keep looking. If you're looking for an easy fast pumpkin bread recipe to whip up on a rainy day then this will suffice. Best wishes on your baking endeavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This bread was so delicious! The only thing I changed about this recipe was substituting 1 cup of Mott's Natural Applesauce (no sugar added) for the 1 cup oil and the bread still came out moist (and much healthier). I wound up doubling the recipe and made 5 - 8x3 loaves of bread (my husband and I ate 3 of the loaves in 3 days it was that good). I will definitely be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is such an easy recipe to follow, im not much of a baker but this was so easy and i was craving for pumpkin bread. I added walnuts too and it was perfect!!! Simple. Easy. Delicious. What more can i ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
this is the most to die for recipe I have ever come across! I have been referring to this recipe for years and have never changed a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I like this. I slightly prefer Janet's Rich Banana Bread and have modified that to use canned pumpkin rather than bananas. BUT - I have made this and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Wonderful, Wonderful bread. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. It was very moist and raised nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happyfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I added a small bag of chocolate chips to this recipe and it was a huge hit with co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is very similar to a recipe handed down from my mom. I know she was making it some 40 years ago and we havent missed a year. It is still one of our family favorites and wouldn't be the holidays without it. She is no longer with us so unable to ask her how she came upon it but on her recipe card it says old family recipe from Idaho. I think it's great others have tweaked it. We like it pretty simple..only with cinnamon and nutmeg and walnuts..it's great sliced thin, slightly warmed and with butter..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is my favorite pumpkin bread recipe. I make this gluten free by substituting Jules Gluten Free all purpose flour for the regular flour & using olive oil - same measurements You cannot tell the difference. I also have been know to add 3 tbsp pumpkin pie spice instead of each individual spice - depending on what I have on hand. Either way, it turns out perfectly & freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States