Down Under Lemon Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I saw a lemon tart recipe in a magazine and had been thinking about making one for about 6 weeks...only I didn't like the recipe in the magazine so I began searching and found this one. I was not dissapointed!! I've only made one or two tarts before...the crust came together beautifully and the lemon gives you a taste of summertime sunshine in the middle of a dark dreary winter. I actually thought it tasted better after being chilled for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pommom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
So yummy!!!!!!!!! This really is one of the best things I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I made this last Thanksgiving to bring to our friends. I left it in the pantry with a pumpkin pecan pie, and when we returned home from our night away, our kids had demolished both. They were lying on the floor like over-stuffed dogs. I'm about to make them again to bring along this year. I'll make two sets to leave one behind. BEST recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make. The crust was very good. I added a little vanilla like a couple people suggested. I love lemon so I didn't reduce the lemon or lemon zest and it was a strong lemon flavor so if you don't like a strong lemon flavor I would suggest adding less zest, or watering down the lemon juice maybe? Thank you to EILISH40 for mentioning how to make a substitute for castor sugar :) and thank you ausiemaria for the tasty refreshing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ak_ladybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Filling was great. The crust was too sweet for me, next time I'd use a simple butter (no sugar) crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraht1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
delish. Don't substitute grapefruit for the lemon though; it doesn't work. The lemon one turned out great though, and the crust was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Eisner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
makes 3 dozen mini tarts. Tart and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Very good. Nice and lemony. But personal preferance, if I want a lemon dessert I think I'd rather make lemon squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This recipe is great! Since the dough was enough for 2 crusts, I decided to make 2 tarts, altering the recipe a bit. First of all, I didn't have & couldn't obtain a tart/flan tin so I used a 9" glass pie dish for 1 & a 9" springform for the other. The 1st tart I followed the recipe exact (minus the pan thing); The 2nd tart I reduced the lemon juice to 1/2 c. and the lemon zest to 1 tbls. The one in the pie dish w/exact recipe came out great, regardless of the cracking/bubbling of the crust. The 2nd came out even better! The springform pan made it look pro & the less lemon juice took the bite off (for my boyfriend's mom- she loved it!)Thanks for a great recipe! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Thanks for an excellent recipe. Made similar many years ago when I lived in Britain. For those who do not know what castor sugar is (or it is not available where they shop) you can put regular granulated sugar in the blender for a few mins. and that will make it finer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States