Down Under Lemon Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
So yummy!!!!!!!!! This really is one of the best things I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I made this last Thanksgiving to bring to our friends. I left it in the pantry with a pumpkin pecan pie, and when we returned home from our night away, our kids had demolished both. They were lying on the floor like over-stuffed dogs. I'm about to make them again to bring along this year. I'll make two sets to leave one behind. BEST recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make. The crust was very good. I added a little vanilla like a couple people suggested. I love lemon so I didn't reduce the lemon or lemon zest and it was a strong lemon flavor so if you don't like a strong lemon flavor I would suggest adding less zest, or watering down the lemon juice maybe? Thank you to EILISH40 for mentioning how to make a substitute for castor sugar :) and thank you ausiemaria for the tasty refreshing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ak_ladybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Filling was great. The crust was too sweet for me, next time I'd use a simple butter (no sugar) crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraht1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
delish. Don't substitute grapefruit for the lemon though; it doesn't work. The lemon one turned out great though, and the crust was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Eisner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
makes 3 dozen mini tarts. Tart and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Very good. Nice and lemony. But personal preferance, if I want a lemon dessert I think I'd rather make lemon squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This recipe is great! Since the dough was enough for 2 crusts, I decided to make 2 tarts, altering the recipe a bit. First of all, I didn't have & couldn't obtain a tart/flan tin so I used a 9" glass pie dish for 1 & a 9" springform for the other. The 1st tart I followed the recipe exact (minus the pan thing); The 2nd tart I reduced the lemon juice to 1/2 c. and the lemon zest to 1 tbls. The one in the pie dish w/exact recipe came out great, regardless of the cracking/bubbling of the crust. The 2nd came out even better! The springform pan made it look pro & the less lemon juice took the bite off (for my boyfriend's mom- she loved it!)Thanks for a great recipe! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Thanks for an excellent recipe. Made similar many years ago when I lived in Britain. For those who do not know what castor sugar is (or it is not available where they shop) you can put regular granulated sugar in the blender for a few mins. and that will make it finer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I took the risk and made this for a dinner party of 10, everyone was bowled over by the fantastic taste and presentation. What a lovely way to end the evening! I too put vanilla extract in the pastry and adjusted the lemon mixture to my taste, tangy but sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States