Down South Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This combines my favorite pies; peacan pie and sweet potato pie! My family looks forward to this every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This has become a family and friend fave. Since this yields two pies, I'm able to have one topped with the nuts and one without. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
best sweet potatoe pic recipe i have ever used. yumm....a little extra work is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was my first ever pie and perfect! I was a born baker, so I did alter it a lil. I used 2 16 oz. Bruce's canned pineapple-orange sweet potatoes, drained & mashed, instead of 1 can of mashed yams... I also added 1 Tsp. of vanilla extract to mix. Instead of suggested topping ~ I baked this for an extra 10-15 min. w/mini marshmellows and chopped pecans sprinkled on top.((until mellows are lightly browned and puffy)) It made for a pretty pie! This recipe was great w/the never never fail pie pastry (again, altered) I rate ***** for both! I had tons of compliments and will continue to make this for every major holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
The Pie was delicious. I don't eat sweet potato pie, but I will be eating this one. This was the fist time that I baked a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Great, Great, Great! This was a big hit at the office and with my family! I cut the sugar a bit the second time I made it because I found it too sweet. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is really good but I wish I would have read diamondlil's baking recommendations ahead of time. I baked as directed, even covering in foil for 1/2 the time and baking on a higher rack and still came just short of burning the crust. Still edible but a few more mins. and it would have been ruined. Having said all that, this was my first time making or trying a sweet potato pie and thought it was fabulous. I told my kids it was a pumpkin pie so they would eat it and no one, except my husband, could really tell the difference. I didn't think this was a very thick pie so I wouldn't recommend the deep dish crust - a regular one should be fine. Also, the nut topping was quite sweet so I would cut the brown sugar back to 1/2 a cup or a little less. This will be on our Thanksgiving menu this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Very good pie.The first pie I made I baked at 425° as directed, but left off the topping. The crust got too brown. The second pie I baked at 375° for 35 minutes and then I reduced the oven temperature to 325° and baked another 25 minutes(I omitted the nut topping).I covered the edges loosely with foil the entire cooking time and it was perfect. This is a very sweet pie. You could reduce the sugar somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Delicious! I left off the pecans on half of it for my daughter and just used butter and brown sugar. She ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This is an AWESOME PIE!!! If you realize that this is for 2 pies and not for 1...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States