Down-South Style Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This is the way I've been making green beans for the last 35 years. Now days, I usually throw them in the crock pot and let them cook all night and all the next day. Add a little bit more salt, cut up some potatoes in them when they're nearly done and you can't ask for anything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These beans were very tasty (very similar to the the beans I learned how to make from my granny and mama). My comments: 1) The original poster must have had a saltier ham hock than the ones I get - as other posters have mentioned, I do add more salt. 2) I always use minced, fresh onion rather than onion powder. 3) I never use lard, bacon grease is the way to go. If you don't have a ham hock, you can really just use bacon grease alone. 4) For the reviewers who didn't care for the taste/texture of the beans - these are not haricots vert and are not intended to be crisp. These are southern-style green beans (as indicated by the name of the recipe) and if you like 'em, you like 'em - if you don't, you don't. Some people enjoy both kinds(like me). 5) And finally, if you want to get truly southern, serve these beans with real southern cornbread (NOT the sweet kind), cooked in a cast iron skillet. Don't discard the soup (the pot likker, as my granny would say) and don't discard the ham hock until you've picked the meat off of it and scattered it in the beans. You can also throw some small new potatoes on top of the beans for the last half hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
8/21/04 I did not like this recipe. The flavour was good, but the beans were too over cooked for my liking. They reminded both hubbie and I of canned beans. I don't like canned veggies at all! I did not add the lard, but did add some bacon. I cooked it in the slow cooker for 4 or 5 hours. One good thing, I used the broth to make a nice 15 bean soup...now that was GREAT! = = = = = = = = = = 9/6/04 I just made this recipe again, but did not use a slow cooker. I really liked it. I used fresh onion and garlic instead of powder and smoked slab bacon instead of lard and a ham hock. I simmered it for about 90 minutes....GREAT!!!! I'm upgrading from 2 stars to 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This is "almost" the recipe my mother-in-law always used, which my husband's family called "Kentucky Beans". The beans are supposed to be over-cooked and cooked "low". My neighbor once told me, "But, you are cooking all the vitamins away!" My answer, "I cook evrything else healthy, but I cook these, just because they taste so good!" I have always "slightly over-peppered" the beans, and omit the salt, because the ham hock makes it un-necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This is a great recipe. I substituted a 4 ounce block of salt pork for the ham hock because my grocer didn’t have one the day I shopped. Next time I make this, I’ll probably add half a sweet onion, quartered and separated. One word of advice: DON’T use stringless green beans. They just don’t have the right flavor for this recipe. Use half-runners for a taste right out of granny’s kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This is the way to make green beans if you are used to having them limp and cooked to death. That being said, they are delicious! I used bacon instead of ham hock and did not use any other fat. Also, I put in a chopped onion instead of onion power. Cook for as many hours as you have! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This recipe is a great idea, but the cook time is too long, the seasonings need to be increased due to being diluted by the water, and there is no mention of using the meat from the ham hocks in the finished dish. I made the recipe as it is stated, then had to make adjustments to make it taste like something other than greasy canned green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
This may very well be the best green beans ever! I had forgoten just how great green beans can taste. My grandmother made green beens like this in the 1950's. She always added cubed potatoes and onions. I did the same the first time I made these. I also added cubed ham because I didn't have a ham hock. THIS IS HOW GREEN BEANS ARE SUPPOSED TO TASTE! Another time when I made these, I sauted some mushrooms and added to the green beans after they were done.... MMMMMMMM GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Wow, I used frozen green beans and they came out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This method is the way I first learned to make beans from my Mamaw years ago. I dice bacon, fry it in the pay, throw the fresh beans in, deglaze the pan with Chicken Stock and small amount of water (add enough to come up about 1/4 of beans.) Add the seasonings to taste, cover and simmer/steam for approx. 2 hours. Check the seasonings again and serve. This is everyone's favorite way to eat fresh beans. The flavor is excellent. Great Recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States