Down-South Style Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Good base recipe, reminds me of my granny's. We add fresh garlic, diced onions, about a teaspoon of chicken boullion, and diced chunks of one potatoe to the beans. Simmer for about 1/2 hour, a favorite of ours for decades.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Pretty good stuff! Don't know if we will make it again tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Great tasting, very Southern green beans. Tastes just like my mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Great recipe! My husband usually does not care for fresh green beans. He prefers canned. Made these for dinner and he loved them! Only change was I used salt pork since I did not have any hamhock. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Wow, I used frozen green beans and they came out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This is the way to make green beans if you are used to having them limp and cooked to death. That being said, they are delicious! I used bacon instead of ham hock and did not use any other fat. Also, I put in a chopped onion instead of onion power. Cook for as many hours as you have! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was pretty darn good. I didn't make it exactly like the original. I had some beef broth that I wanted to use up so I used it instead of the water. and I cooked bacon in the skillet along with some onions and garlic and added that, the grease and all to the crockpot. it was still very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
A+++++ You gotta try this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
My mom has made these green beans for years, with a few minor variations. She uses canned green beans, although she has used fresh occasionally. We use a quartered onion instead of the onion powder, a tablespoon of bacon grease instead of the lard, and lots of salt and pepper. Sometimes she will throw in a couple of slices of bacon, we don't use ham hocks, but they are probably pretty good. A staple at any family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This is "almost" the recipe my mother-in-law always used, which my husband's family called "Kentucky Beans". The beans are supposed to be over-cooked and cooked "low". My neighbor once told me, "But, you are cooking all the vitamins away!" My answer, "I cook evrything else healthy, but I cook these, just because they taste so good!" I have always "slightly over-peppered" the beans, and omit the salt, because the ham hock makes it un-necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States