Down-South Style Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
This recipe turned out awesome. I used 4 lbs. of beans and only 6-8 cups of water ... worked just fine in the slow cooker. I also used smoked ham hocks which added another layer of flavor. Everybody at dinner raved about these beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by h0t5auce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Just like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
This recipe is pretty good. I did add a few peeled and cubed potatoes, a medium onion and more season salt and salt. It turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
I cooked these in chicken bouillon, added more of the seasonings, bacon grease, onion, and butter. Knocked the fat content up a noche, but were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This is the ONLY way to cook green beans! My father is a country boy from KY, and this is the way it's done down there. We use chopped onion instead of onion powder and don't use garlic at all. I've used cut up bacon strips instead of the ham hock. Also, I've always put everything in the pot, brought it to a boil, then turned it down to a simmer. The longer they cook, the better the flavor (remember the salt/pepper though...the beans can be bland without it). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This is **THE** southern way to cook your green beans!! I did add 1/2 teaspoon more salt, they were not salty enough. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
My family thought these were wonderful, even my stepson who usually won't eat greenbeans. I changed only a couple things. I had almost two pounds of beans, but I kept the water the same and it was fine. I didn't have a hamhock so I used a poound of diced ham. At first I doubled all the seasoning, but after about 90 minutes, I tasted one and thought it needed more. So I doubled the seasoning again. I let them cook about 2.5 hours on med-low and they were perfect. I don't know if using a hamhock would have helped reduce the amount of seasoning I had to use, so I may try that next time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This is a great recipe. I substituted a 4 ounce block of salt pork for the ham hock because my grocer didn’t have one the day I shopped. Next time I make this, I’ll probably add half a sweet onion, quartered and separated. One word of advice: DON’T use stringless green beans. They just don’t have the right flavor for this recipe. Use half-runners for a taste right out of granny’s kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I made this recipe for 40 people. Turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
I think the recipe is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States