Down-South Style Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These beans were very tasty (very similar to the the beans I learned how to make from my granny and mama). My comments: 1) The original poster must have had a saltier ham hock than the ones I get - as other posters have mentioned, I do add more salt. 2) I always use minced, fresh onion rather than onion powder. 3) I never use lard, bacon grease is the way to go. If you don't have a ham hock, you can really just use bacon grease alone. 4) For the reviewers who didn't care for the taste/texture of the beans - these are not haricots vert and are not intended to be crisp. These are southern-style green beans (as indicated by the name of the recipe) and if you like 'em, you like 'em - if you don't, you don't. Some people enjoy both kinds(like me). 5) And finally, if you want to get truly southern, serve these beans with real southern cornbread (NOT the sweet kind), cooked in a cast iron skillet. Don't discard the soup (the pot likker, as my granny would say) and don't discard the ham hock until you've picked the meat off of it and scattered it in the beans. You can also throw some small new potatoes on top of the beans for the last half hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Good down home green beans. I did make some changes, I substituted season salt for the salt. I increased my seasonings, but similar to other reviewers I felt that keeping the seasonings at the suggested measurement wasn't enough, since the water diluted it. I added minced onions, garlic, and slabbed bacon. I also used cooking oil instead of lard and decreased it to 1 tsp, since my bacon made enough fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
So delicious and so very easy. I made in a crock pot and would never do it any other way, as it's incredibly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suki's mommy
Living In: Thornton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Very tasty! I added a little chopped up onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I didn't have ham hock so I didn't use that. I used a little over a tablespoon of bacon grease. I really loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Very tasty, however I cut down on the cooking time b/c i do not like mushy veggies. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Good recipe, didn't add the lard or the garlic though, I have to admit. Cooked the beans with some new potatoes added later in the cooking process. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Didn't care for this recipe at all. The ham hock flavor was too strong - I couldn't taste anything else. Also, the beans were way too mushy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Pretty Good. Takes awhile to cook. But it was good. Used bacon instead of the ham hock and left out the lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kisling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Very good, served with baked pork chops 1 from this site. This has great flavor and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States