Down-South Style Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I doubled the recipe... added some red wine vinegar, and celery salt...eliminated the lard, but used two Ham Hocks...fresh onion chopped, 2 cloves of fresh garlic minced, one potato half baked and quartered, and then put it all in a slow cooker for 8 hours on low.... and well.... oohhhh yeah....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My Mom died 15 years ago and my Sister-in-law and I have been trying to re-create her green beans ever since, to no avail. I tried your recipe in the crockpot and the flavor was just really close to hers. What made her's special was, she always forgot them on the back of the stove and they would burn. The flavor was heavenly with a caramalized touch! I made your beans and cooked for 3 hours in the crockpot. Then I put them in Mom's old pot on the back of the stove and left them to simmer for HOURS!. When I smelled the burning start I pulled them off the heat. PERFECT!!! My entire Family thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious green beans! I used chicken broth instead of water, and salt pork since the grocery store had no ham hocks that day. I cooked the beans on low in my crock pot for about 4 hours and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I'm from Miami wihcih is not considered the South. However, my Mother's side of the family is from the South and this is authentic southern green beans. For those who complain they're too mushy, this isn't the recipe for you. I love quick stir fired garlicky green beans too but this is what I love at holidays. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I thought this was really bland. Not sure what it needs. I used chicken stock instead of water. I thought about added a can of fire roasted tomatoes and red potatoes. I would not make this recipe again without modifying it into something tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
GREAT RECIPE!!! It's also good with salt pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is a holiday favorite. My brother says he would drive home through 5 states just to have these green beans. Great Recipe!!! I triple it for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaseyLM101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is the way I cook my green beans. However, you only need to cook them on high for about 1 hr; and they will taste even better if you cook them in an iron pot or deep skillet. A true southern cook is never without a good iron skillet! Happy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This method is the way I first learned to make beans from my Mamaw years ago. I dice bacon, fry it in the pay, throw the fresh beans in, deglaze the pan with Chicken Stock and small amount of water (add enough to come up about 1/4 of beans.) Add the seasonings to taste, cover and simmer/steam for approx. 2 hours. Check the seasonings again and serve. This is everyone's favorite way to eat fresh beans. The flavor is excellent. Great Recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Needed more salt, but otherwise fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States