Down-South Style Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I made these beans and they were off the hook!!! Even the kids loved them. I did not have a hamhock so I used 3 teaspoons of powdered ham base instead. I had two pounds of beans. These beans were fantastic! They are destined to be a staple for many meals to come...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKJAMES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
If you want GREAT SOUTHERN STYLE GREEN BEANS, follow this recipe. My dad's family is from Arkansas, and mom is from Texas. These are EXACTLY like my paternal grandma used to make. I was raised on Southern food, and this is the REAL DEAL. The only thing different I did was use real onion instead of onion powder. Don't expect crispy green beans. These are DOWN SOUTH as the recipe says. Good old SOUTHERN green beans. THANK YOU FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I too substitute salt pork for the ham hock. My family loves this recipe and yes the beans are cooked until they are very soft but this is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Excellent traditional recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
one word, DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vababe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe! Was recently back in Kentucky and as always, I try to eat local recipes vs anything I can get at home. Southern Green Beans were on the menu, so I tried them. They were just like these - soft and flavorful. I used a ham bone I froze after Christmas dinner as well as a ham steak diced up - outstanding!! One of my family members likes things a little more on the sweet side, so they added a little BBQ sauce. I tasted their version and that was yummy too. This one is a keeper, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Taste just like my grandmother, mm mm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I doubled the recipe... added some red wine vinegar, and celery salt...eliminated the lard, but used two Ham Hocks...fresh onion chopped, 2 cloves of fresh garlic minced, one potato half baked and quartered, and then put it all in a slow cooker for 8 hours on low.... and well.... oohhhh yeah....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My Mom died 15 years ago and my Sister-in-law and I have been trying to re-create her green beans ever since, to no avail. I tried your recipe in the crockpot and the flavor was just really close to hers. What made her's special was, she always forgot them on the back of the stove and they would burn. The flavor was heavenly with a caramalized touch! I made your beans and cooked for 3 hours in the crockpot. Then I put them in Mom's old pot on the back of the stove and left them to simmer for HOURS!. When I smelled the burning start I pulled them off the heat. PERFECT!!! My entire Family thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious green beans! I used chicken broth instead of water, and salt pork since the grocery store had no ham hocks that day. I cooked the beans on low in my crock pot for about 4 hours and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States