Down-Home Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I used ground turkey that I spiced up to taste like breakfast sausage. I was kind of worried about the evaporated milk and the water but it turned out okay. I did not add the extra salt. There was one thing missing from this recipe and that's fat to brown the flour in. After I browned the meat, I drained it and then melted a couple tablespoons of butter in the hot skillet, then added the flour. I did not need all six tablespoons of flour. I think I still prefer using all milk instead of watered down evaporated milk. Even so, we ate all of this--no leftovers. My husband didn't even say anything about the turkey sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Perfect!! Better than a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Super easy and super delicious! Just beware...it makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emissy85
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was good and easy, but I still prefer the recipe from Bob Evan's website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEllison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hinton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I used turkey sausage and lowfat milk. It wasn't as good as the "real-deal" would have been, I would guess. But was still very good and healthier. Loved using the evaporated milk, as it is so handy and has a richer flavor, IMO, than the lowfat milk we usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Made a similar recipe once before and it turned out too salty. So for this recipe I used the lowest sodium sausage I could find and did not add any salt. Turned out great. Not salty, at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Thia recipe is simple and very delicious!!! I used Tobasco chipolte pepper sause and added a few seasonings like Tony Chachere's creaole seasoning!! It added just the right kick and it was very satisfying!!! Thanks for sharing this with everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatclift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I love this recipe and its so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. My kids loved it. The gravy is so rich without adding any butter or oil. I also used low fat sausage and fat free evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Perfect every time! I have been making this recipe for about two years for friends and family, there are never left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States