Down-Home Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I used ground turkey that I spiced up to taste like breakfast sausage. I was kind of worried about the evaporated milk and the water but it turned out okay. I did not add the extra salt. There was one thing missing from this recipe and that's fat to brown the flour in. After I browned the meat, I drained it and then melted a couple tablespoons of butter in the hot skillet, then added the flour. I did not need all six tablespoons of flour. I think I still prefer using all milk instead of watered down evaporated milk. Even so, we ate all of this--no leftovers. My husband didn't even say anything about the turkey sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Perfect!! Better than a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Super easy and super delicious! Just beware...it makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emissy85
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was good and easy, but I still prefer the recipe from Bob Evan's website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEllison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hinton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I used turkey sausage and lowfat milk. It wasn't as good as the "real-deal" would have been, I would guess. But was still very good and healthier. Loved using the evaporated milk, as it is so handy and has a richer flavor, IMO, than the lowfat milk we usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Made a similar recipe once before and it turned out too salty. So for this recipe I used the lowest sodium sausage I could find and did not add any salt. Turned out great. Not salty, at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Thia recipe is simple and very delicious!!! I used Tobasco chipolte pepper sause and added a few seasonings like Tony Chachere's creaole seasoning!! It added just the right kick and it was very satisfying!!! Thanks for sharing this with everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatclift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I love this recipe and its so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. My kids loved it. The gravy is so rich without adding any butter or oil. I also used low fat sausage and fat free evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Perfect every time! I have been making this recipe for about two years for friends and family, there are never left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States