Down Home Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
The 5 Star rating is based on following the June 5, 2005 review by Breeze. I made the recipe with the alterations exactly as Breeze suggested and it was absolutely fantastic! My significant other said it was the best homemade macaroni and cheese he had ever had...even better than his mom and grandma's which is definitely saying something. I do not know how this recipe is as written, but with the alterations compiled by Breeze, it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hayes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I've always made mac and cheese like this but with a few changes. No breadcrumbs. Use all the butter in the sauce and add extra cheese but I don't put any cheese on top. To the cheese sauce I add black pepper, dry mustard, a few drops of Louisianna hot sauce, and about 1/2 cup of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
With Breeze's suggestions, this makes a macaroni and cheese the way folks here in the South love it. A necessity at all gatherings. Thanks, Kraft and Breeze!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
My southern born and bred hubby begs for this dish all of the time! I have made it for almost every holiday meal for the past three years because my family all demand I make it. lol It is super easy and delicious. I have made it in a lower fat method before by using reduced fat and/or fat free ingredients and whole wheat pasts noodles and it is still tasty, but not quite as soul satisfying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I actually found this recipe on the Kraft website quite a few years ago and it's been my go-to mac & cheese ever since. I always use more cheese than this calls for...we like it VERY cheesy, and I always make extra because it's really good as the next day's lunch. My husband can get enough of it and I always take it to family functions, where everyone loves it. Overall, I don't think I've ever tasted a better mac & cheese:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Asher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I have used this recipe for years! I always double it (using a whole 16 oz. box of elbow macaroni) as well as doubling the American cheese (so that I use a full pound). I add 3 cups of shredded sharp cheddar to the sauce and reserve the last cup for the topping. I don't add butter to the bread crumbs, I just sprinkle it on top of the cheese until the top of a 9x13 inch pan is well covered. Here is a suggestion! Add your left-over ham or kielbasa! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was very creamy and my family seemed to like it. No ooohs and ahhhs. I thought it was just a bit bland despite the tweaks I read in another review, garlic salt, cayenne pepper, mustard powder... The next time I make mac & cheese from scratch I will look for a recipe without velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was a huge hit a work potluck - I had many compliments and had many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesweetestlove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allendale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
My family loves this recipe. I don't use the bread crumbs as my husband doesn't like them added. I have made it for several of my family get togethers. I bake it as it instructs but don't put the cheese on top. Then I use crock pot liners and put it in my crock pot on warm. It's always the first thing gone. I wish I could find a bigger crock pot so I could triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Made for a few cook outs last summer, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States