Down Home Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I've used this recipe for over six years...I've never gotten more compliments on any dish. I do alter the recipe. I do not use the bread crumbs and I use a combination of muenster, sharp cheddar, monterey jack, and velveeta. I use more sharp cheddar than the rest. I use half of the velveeta the recipe calls for and sub the muenster in place. I also boil the pasta noodles with salt and use black pepper. I do not bake the mac and cheese for too long as it looses it's creaminess. Also watch if leaving in the crock pot for too long/too high as it will also loose creaminess. Very easy to make and my kids and I love making it together. The constant stirring with a big spoon, the shredding of the cheese, and dropping it handfull by handful is like a ritual for me and my boys who are now teenagers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Ive made this several times but finally got around to rating the recipe. Make sure you constantly stir or the cheese will stick to the bottom of the pot in a matter of seconds. This is a great side for any hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I didn't do the breadcrumb topping becuase I don't care for it, but followed recipe otherwise. I had 1/4 lb. of velveta to use up and what better way to use it than mac and cheese. My 4 yo would not touch this and when she finally took a bite she spit it out. LOL She does not like mac and cheese made with the roux. My 19 month old loved it she ate hers and the rest of her sisters. I thought it was just ok. The best part was the top layer of cheese that was melted the rest of it wasn't all that great. I'm still on the quest to find a recipe that's like the boxed kind. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I have never had much luck making make and cheese but this recipe is so easy it came out AWESOME! The one and only thing I did different was I omitted the breadcrumbs because my kids don't like them. Other than that I made it as written. It was creamy and gooey. My 4 yr old niece said it made her tummy all warm. I will be making this often! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
WOW....so creamy and delish! I doubled the recipe and used 2% velveeta. That was the only change. Everyone went back for seconds. Will definately make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
OMG- this is the best EVER! I could eat the whole pan by myself! My only tip would be to use garlic-flavored bread crumbs- it gives it that extra something! SOOO amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This is my absolute favorite mac and cheese dish-it is so creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Old Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Fabulous and easy homemade mac and cheese. We absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
My family and I really love this mac and cheese. I like to add some black pepper and minced onion to the sauce. Also instead of bread crumbs on top I use crushed Ritz crackers mixed with some melted butter. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This recipe can easyly be doubled, but for me, I use an extra cup of milk. For the first pan I make the macaroni and cheese as recipe says without the breadcrumbs. To me macaroni and cheese as a dish doesn't need breadcrumbs, but just a few minutes under the broiler after it is done. The second dish I add cooked chopped chicken and throw in frozen peas, that are still frozen, and do not bake this one, but put it in the freezer for a future meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ewan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States