Down Home Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This wasn't near enough cheese sauce. When I made this, the sauce was a little too thick so I ended up adding another cup of fat free evaporated milk (I used that instead of regular milk to make it creamier because all I keep on hand now is fat free milk) milk and another cup of shredded cheese and 1/4 pound of Velveeta. I did add what I usually add to my macaroni and cheese; one tablespoon of dijon, a teaspoon each of garlic/onion powders and a couple shakes of Frank's hot sauce. My family thought the end result was very tasty, I had one bite and thought it was pretty close to the macaroni and cheese that Mom made with government cheese. I highly recommend that you add more milk and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Not too bad, seemed a bit bland to me...Will make again but, will dr up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIA71267

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stevensville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Delicious And Creamy, a kid pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I loved this recipe. I absolutely hate Mac and Cheese recipes that call for egg so this was perfect. What I loved most about it was the fact that it heated up perfectly and wasn't oily. It is perfectly creamy and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Really creamy, very tasty. The only thing I didn't like with this recipe is I didn't think the topping was enough. I will double the topping next time, and then it would be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BusyMom
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Doubled the recipe & the kids liked it. I didn't put the bread crumbs on top due to preference. Overall it was creamy & tasty! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I am still searching for the perfect homemade macaroni and cheese recipe. This was not it. I doubled the recipe for a birthday party. I didn't bake it and kept it warm in the slow cooker. It was creamy but wasn't as cheesy tasting as I would like. It almost reminded me of the mac & cheese served at school that was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is the best mac & cheese! The kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is pretty much exactly how I make my mac and cheese, except I use a pound of elbow macaroni (or wagon wheels), double the sauce and use all velveeta (like 1 pound total). Sometimes I'll add a little garlic powder and season salt for extra flavor and I ALWAYS add fresh ground black pepper. This recipe is outstanding....creamy, rich and delicious! This is usually a meal for us on it's own! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Very easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamaica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States