Down Home Chitterlings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is an awesome recipe!! in addition to the basic receipt, I added lemon pepper, green pepper, a packet of soy sauce. I also cooked them in an iron Dutch oven. They came out super tender. I will definitely use this recipe from now on - for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Grigsby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Great tips! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANTOINETTE_ROYAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
LOVE CHITTLINS ONCE A YEAR THANKSGIVING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I haven't made this as I live in France, and have never seem them to buy. However, as a child in North Devon, UK, my mother used to fry them in the pan with some bacon. They became very crisp and crunchy and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Lawrence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appledore, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by Jacqui
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Good with cole slaw, greens, and cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
my grandparents always taught me to soak chittlins in cold salt water for an hour or 2 before the cleaning process. after cleaning the water must be changed several times adding salt to the water. the salt really draws out the blood in the intestines. you'd be surprised how clear the water will be by the last washing. we also chop up an onion, garlic, crushed red pepper flakes, a whole potato, salt to taste, and white pepper instead of black pepper, also you can put a little apple cidar vinegar in too. we also have a family friend who cooks hers with a can of beer added for tenderness. when ready to eat put hot sauce on(franks), and throw down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
To save on time, I put the chitlins in my preesure cooker to cut the cooking time in half. My family has been eating chitlins before I was born. We absolutely love them. I forgot to mention I also add hog maws to the chilins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Great recipe. My suggestion is to also try cooking them in a slow cooker! I cook them on LOW overnight. Wake up to check them maybe once or twice. The entire process usually takes about 10 hours in the slow cooker, but it is soooo worth the wait. Very tender and juicy. So good that my family says that there nevee enough. Hope this helps :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
After cleaning 40 lbs of chitlins, I was looking for something quick and easy to get my chitlins cooking. This was easy and my chitlins were delicious; just like my mom and grandma used to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Pegues

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is an excellent recipe for chitterlings. They came out perfect. I first brought them to a boil for about 10 minutes and then drained them. With fresh water, just enough to cover, I used one large onion quartered,1 stalk celery coarsely chopped, 1/2 jalapeno chopped and seeded, 2 chicken bouillon cubes(I didn't have any stock)1/2 teaspoon seasoned salt , crushed pepper flakes. I forgot to add the garlic. Simmered for 6 hours. My husband and daughter said the were very good. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States