Down Home Chitterlings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I haven't made this as I live in France, and have never seem them to buy. However, as a child in North Devon, UK, my mother used to fry them in the pan with some bacon. They became very crisp and crunchy and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Lawrence
Photo by Jacqui
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Good with cole slaw, greens, and cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
my grandparents always taught me to soak chittlins in cold salt water for an hour or 2 before the cleaning process. after cleaning the water must be changed several times adding salt to the water. the salt really draws out the blood in the intestines. you'd be surprised how clear the water will be by the last washing. we also chop up an onion, garlic, crushed red pepper flakes, a whole potato, salt to taste, and white pepper instead of black pepper, also you can put a little apple cidar vinegar in too. we also have a family friend who cooks hers with a can of beer added for tenderness. when ready to eat put hot sauce on(franks), and throw down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
To save on time, I put the chitlins in my preesure cooker to cut the cooking time in half. My family has been eating chitlins before I was born. We absolutely love them. I forgot to mention I also add hog maws to the chilins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Great recipe. My suggestion is to also try cooking them in a slow cooker! I cook them on LOW overnight. Wake up to check them maybe once or twice. The entire process usually takes about 10 hours in the slow cooker, but it is soooo worth the wait. Very tender and juicy. So good that my family says that there nevee enough. Hope this helps :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
After cleaning 40 lbs of chitlins, I was looking for something quick and easy to get my chitlins cooking. This was easy and my chitlins were delicious; just like my mom and grandma used to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Pegues

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is an excellent recipe for chitterlings. They came out perfect. I first brought them to a boil for about 10 minutes and then drained them. With fresh water, just enough to cover, I used one large onion quartered,1 stalk celery coarsely chopped, 1/2 jalapeno chopped and seeded, 2 chicken bouillon cubes(I didn't have any stock)1/2 teaspoon seasoned salt , crushed pepper flakes. I forgot to add the garlic. Simmered for 6 hours. My husband and daughter said the were very good. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I love cooking chitterlings for my family.My 110 year old grandmother taught me and i cook them only on special occasions.I use the same indgredients you use but near the end of the final hour cooking,i drop a potatoe in whole and it make a nice thickener and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
this recipe sounds good but i clean in hot water then two baths and i also use a potatoes instead of garlic and sometimes add hog maw too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fellow southerner here, and this recipe hit the spot. I've had my share of chitlins, but never have i done them myself. The one thing that i did was during the final boil to toughin the chitlins added the white vinegar. And still they came out great. But this was a successful trial run with 20lbs of chitlins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States