Down Home Chitterlings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This recipe is fine however in Louisiana we cook ours with lots of apple cider vinegar. 50/50 vinegar water. Sage, black pepper, and a jalapeno also add a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST AND EASIEST RECIPE I'VE SEEN!. JUST TRIED IT......LOVED IT, AND WILL DEFINITELY SAVE IT! HAPPY NEW YEAR, EVERYONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I follow this recipe, but add about 3 whole cloves to 10 lbs. It does not taste like cloves, it just enhances the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, but what I do is after cleaning them thoroughly, I pre-cook the chitterlings for 1 1/2 hours, rinse them until the water is clear and then proceed to season them and let them simmer for at least 5hrs in a slow cooker or a huge roaster(I cook no less than 60lbs each time). Chitterlings should NOT smell while they are cooking. If they do, they are not clean and if grease settles in them, they still are not clean. The juice from the chittlerlings should GEL up, not GREASE up. Grab the hotsauce and enjoy1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I love them mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great recipe! My only variation is adding sliced jalapeno peppers and about a tablespoon of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was my favorite chitts recipe from reading the narrative. I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and would like to suggest what tastes best for my family. They prefer only a small amount of onion, not a whole onion; cleaning well is the first step, but it is not necessary to pour off the water several times once the chitts begin to cook; once is enough. Finally, for seasonings the tried and true salt, a little red pepper and maybe white pepper, and a small amount (very small) amount of vinegar...1 teaspoon will do. In terms of the smell; the true chittlin lover absolutely loves the smell of chitts cooking. That is part and parcel of the enjoyment. So, try them; experiment with flavors, but just give me salt, red pepper and a touch of vinegar...that will do. And, please cook them for more than 4 hours. It is not a matter of tenderness; it is a matter of doneness. Cook them from 8 to 12 hours and they will be tender...and done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AvocadoLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lovejoy, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
i'm soo glad to see a recipe like this&yes i'm a southerner. and we looove chitterlings&hog maws(we add this to the chitterlings...mmm mmm delicious) just like the other comments, i boil the chitterlings 2x(removing fat, grease, etc) instead of using water, i use homemade chicken broth. bouillon cubes, onions, jalapenos&banana peppers(cutting out the inside for less spici(ness) garlic&onion powder, just a little of msg let it boil down on low @least 5-7hrs(yes a whole days work but its worth it) once its done cut it up into small pieces&serve with coleslaw...you all will thank me for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Almost the same as I remember my mother making, but she added a potato to cut the smell while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
There are some things in life that demand attention from the point of tradition, chitterlings a.k.a. “chittlins” is one of them. This dish is not for the lazy kitchen cook, (and you know who you are) it can take more than a full day to clean, prepare and cook chitterlings correctly especially if they are fresh. There are two rules that must be adhered to up front: 1. If your chitterlings stink before and during the cleaning process they are fresh! 2. If your chitterlings continue to stink while cooking, they are not clean enough! Two soakings in cold water does not cut it, for chitterlings to be clean they should be almost as transparent as a wet paper towel when held up to the light. Use vinegar and plenty of it during the entire process of cooking chitterlings, remember these are the intestines of an animal as to minimize the potential of contamination of your chitterlings all caution must be observed. Keep your hands clean during the process, (recommend you cut your fingernails short as well). Chitterlings like greens; make water…..do not fill the pot up to the brink with water less you will have a pot that will overflow on the stove for sure. Depending on the number of pounds you’re preparing, the pot need not be more than a quarter ways filled with water. Remember also that chitterlings cook down, so the weight before cooking will dramatically be reduced after they cook. (15lbs of chitterlings cooks down to about 7lbs). Now comes the seasoning of the water: 1 Onio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
572 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States