Down Home Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
This is a great recipe my family has enjoyed numerous times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
recipe was very nice. created a crunchy crust that was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
I made this chicken on the 4th of July for the first time, it turned out great everyone loved it. thanks for the great new way to add flavor to my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This is a fairly simple recipie that tastes "great"! It is the best southern fried chicken recipie I have cooked. My entire family loved it, thank you. Mark Goins North Carolina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Bend, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
The taste is a five, but next time we will do things a bit differently. First, using a whole chicken made it harder to cook through without burning. Next time, we will cut it up into small pieces like chicken nuggets. Second, there wasn't nearly enough cayenne. Next time, we'll double it at least! This recipe takes time if you have a small skillet, so you better be a fried chicken lover to spend the hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Very, VERY good. Came out a lot like fried chicken, just baked in the oven. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This is a great recipe. I did not have shortening on hand, so used corn oil with the bacon grease---my husband raved over the taste!! We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I prepared this recipe as directed. I was disappointed at the outcome and my family was less than impressed. I will not be making this anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Far superior to the fried chicken recipes I tried before. I substituted boneless skinless chicken breasts since we buy them frozen in 3lb bags and always have them on hand. Added a bit more cayenne since my husband usually complains the fried chicken recipes are "bland" and it came out nicely. cut them into stips to make chicken "fingers" and served with french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Watts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I am so sorry but I was just not impressed with this chicken. It was okay, but I thought it was very bland, so did my hubby. It was also kind of greasy. I checked my oil temp and it was fine so don't know what the problem was, Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States