Down Home Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this recipe today because I had bacon and broccoli that I wanted to use plus most of a sausage. My only changes were minor, as suggested by some previous reviews: cooked the potatoes & onions in the bacon grease (practically none, so had to add a little olive oil) until nearly done, then included the broccoli, added chicken broth as needed to soften the potatoes & broccoli, and cooked a little longer than called for until the liquid was nearly absorbed. I had no celery and therefore omitted it. Both husband and grown daughter loved it! My daughter said I can make it any time for her, which is rare for her.The sausage was a flavorful one from the island of Crete (we don't seem to have Kielbasa here), which may have contributed to the excellent taste. Yum and thanks to the poster. Next time I may try shredded cabbage as suggested by several reviewers - looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe is good, homestyle, comfort food. I like to dice the potatoes instead of slicing, and saute them for a few minutes before adding the other veggies. Then, I put a lid on and steam everything for a few minutes. This gives the sausage a chance to release all the nice juice and helps to tenderize the potatoes and other veggies without burning. It is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I brought this dish to my daughter's for me to eat for lunch because her household (except her husband) is on a special diet. Her mother in law and husband were there so I offered them some. They loved it and so did I. Definitely not a low calorie dish with the bacon fat, but I think it is actually very healthy with all the veggies. I added the potatoes and onions to the skillet after the bacon was cooked and cooked them for about 10 minutes until they were just barely done before adding the rest of the veggies. I did wind up adding about one third cup of water to help the broccoli and carrots along. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. What a great meal! It is not fancy, just good food served right! I am making it for dinner tonight after a busy day to serve to my husband for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Next time would have chopped potatoes. Overall not basically added some more seasonings of my own. Might make again with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
i preboiled the potatoes and carrots, and substituted the broccoli for green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
We loved this recipe, I didn't have broccoli, but did have broccoli slaw, with carrots, cabbage ect so was able to make this with pretty much the same ingredients, just cut differently! This also saved time in the end for a quick easy worknight dinner. I also placed the potatoes in the microwave for about 8 minutes before adding to the pan. We will definitely have this again! Thank you for the wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Pretty good! I couldn't bear to leave all of the bacon grease in so I drained most of it and add chicken broth a little at a time as needed while cooking. Probably better with all of the bacon grease but still very good this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Liked it the way it is. I doubled the recipe. Couldn't find Kielbasa Sausage, so use any sausage I could find. Why is it called a casserole? It's more like a skillet dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Definitely comfort food! It was tasty but sort of greasy so I would not make this very often. Would probably be good for breakfast along side some eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
My family's favorite! Easy to make, and the house smells so good while it's cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Witt, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States