Down-Home Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
this recipe is almost the one my Grandmother made the only changes I make is half cup brown suger and mustard power garlic. No okra 5 stars for Grandma's version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good, I don't usually like black eyed peas and I made these for new years and they were great, Tons of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Really good. I added 2 tbsp crushed garlic and also a half pound of cooked ground meat. This recipe makes a bunch and is affordable, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZEROKEY
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is what I did: I used one of those frozen bags of season blend with onions, peppers, and celery because they're so easy and that's what I had on hand. Then I used bacon instead of hamhocks because I had bacon on hand. I also used a box of chicken stock and some water with chicken bouillon instead of just plain water for extra flavor. And then towards the end I added a tablespoon of butter for a savory flavor. I also omitted the okra because that's not what I had on hand. However note that if you use okra it will thicken the mixture up a lot as okra is a natural thickening agent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEROKEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
good. no okra though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The bomb. I used smoked pork instead and added a can of stewed tomatoes and a stalk of green onions. My family and I loved it. We ate it up in 2 days. I give it 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
excellent i never liked black eyed-peas as a child but wanted my kids to try them out i used this recipie without the okra and to say the least me and my kids loved this!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I followed this recipe to the tee with the exception of not adding celery and replacing the onions with shallots since I had no onions on hand and it was still just very bland. nothing really made it pop out enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is one that will stay. We love blackeyed peas. It taste good and its good for you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurettaLynne
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was awesome-- so delicious and perfect for New Year's Day. I did read the comments and added 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 1 tablespoon of brown sugar, 1/4 tsp of powdered garlic, 1/4 tsp of dry mustard. I used ham steaks cut up instead of a ham hock, and cut the salt in half. I also used two cans of blackeyed peas instead of dry. I recommend the frozen okra-- great touch. I put it all in the crock pot for 4 hours on high. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States